We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Salt Air Tours

Salt Air Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Salt Air's helicopter and fixed wing scenic flights and tours offer you a unique and memorable experience of the Bay of Islands and Northland from the air with spectacular coastline views and island scenery. Our guided tour options and island escapes will also leave you with an appreciation of our beaches, local history, culture and coastal environment that is uniquely Northland.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 25 February 2015 via mobile

My wife and I took the 45 minute helicopter tour where we landed on Motukokako Island, which is island with the "hole in the rock". It was great! The view was awesome and the commentary was informative and interesting. We got out of the helicopter on the hole in the rock island and walked around for a few minutes. We did a helicopter tour of Kauai in Hawaii in November and this was better. I know what you're thinking - it is expensive! I almost didn't do it because of the cost but I must say it was worth it! I'm glad we did it!

2  Thank Mark1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2015

How cool that you found our flight better than the one in Hawaii, that's tough competition - brilliant, thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"helicopter flight"
in 23 reviews
"the east coast"
in 22 reviews
"fly drive"
in 18 reviews
"sand dunes"
in 43 reviews
"cape reinga"
in 91 reviews
"return flight"
in 12 reviews
"fixed wing"
in 6 reviews
"knowledgeable pilot"
in 5 reviews
"heli tour"
in 4 reviews
"homemade muffins"
in 3 reviews
"new zealand"
in 31 reviews
"rock island"
in 5 reviews
"professional company"
in 4 reviews
"running commentary"
in 6 reviews
"top end"
in 3 reviews
"morning tea"
in 8 reviews
"sand boarding"
in 12 reviews
Filter

178 - 182 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2015

We had such a great time! Staff all friendly, personable, & keen to ensure we had a good time. The flights up to an back from Cape Reinga were fab (Daniel was a great pilot) and the land tour with Joyce was fun & delightful. It really was a unique experience & we thoroughly enjoyed it. FAB-U-LOUS! And many happy memories that will stay with us. Thanks to Salt Air!

1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2015

It's always wonderful to get such great feedback and we're pleased we could provide something so memorable for you. Appreciate your review :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

I took the trip up to Cape Reinga with my wife and daughter on Valentines day.
It was simply fantastic-I can't say enough good things about Daniel and Bruce.
I would highly recommend this trip to anyone.

1  Thank ballarderik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2015

So pleased you enjoyed the tour and scenic flights to Cape Reinga, thanks for sharing your experience. Cheers from the Salt Air team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

My husband and I took the hole in the rock 45min tour and the pilot was extremely informative, we got amazing photos and had the extreme privilege of walking around the "hole in the rock" island which was quite a treat. I highly recommend spending the extra money to take the best trip as it goes by so quickly. The DVD was a bit disappointing as it wasn't any photos of us, they were only printed out and given to us which I didn't find out until I got home so don't waste your time on that (it is filled with photos & promotional videos for salt air).

Thank Shelliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Really pleased you enjoyed our flights and thought it was worth the fare, so thanks for the feedback. Sorry you were disappointed your photo wasn't on the CD in the pack as the discs are pre-made - so we always email these to customers on request. Please feel free to email us at: info@saltair.co.nz with your name and date of your flight so we can send you a digital version.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2015 via mobile

We did a Cape Reinga plane tour (half day). Whilst there are cheaper ways to visit the top end of Northland, this was by far the quickest and most impressive. The journey up takes about 45 minutes in a small plane (8 passengers max). Then it's a short drive to the lighthouse where the Tasman and Pacific oceans meet and then to the Te Paki sand dunes where you can try sand surfing. Our pilot, Daniel, was very knowledgeable and actually doubled up as our tour guide, driver, tea maker and sand surf instructor! Highly recommended if you have limited time and fancy an alternative way of viewing the Bay of Islands in a small group setting.

Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Fabulous review thank you - great to hear Daniel did such a good job on the flights and tour too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Air Tours also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Salt Air Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing