We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Salt Air Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Salt Air Tours
from US$180.80
More Info
from US$242.70
More Info
from US$312.90
More Info
from US$180.80
More Info
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
302
18
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
18
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helicopter flight the east coast fly drive sand dunes cape reinga return flight fixed wing knowledgeable pilot heli tour homemade muffins new zealand rock island professional company running commentary top end morning tea sand boarding
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Chose the 4.5 hour fly/drive tour. The scenery from the air going up the West coast and coming back along the eastern side was stunning. Tom, our pilot, gave an informative commentary and answered questions via the headsets. The ground tour was taken by Joyce and again was interesting and informative taking in Cape Reinga, Tapotupotu Bay and the Giant Sand dunes at the Te Paki Stream. Not a cheap option but great value for money. Well worth 'pushing out the boat' for this once in a lifetime experience. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank Stox91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Such wonderful feedback, thanks for your high recommendation and sharing it with others. Cheers from the Salt Air team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We were never planning on taking a ride, but as the land based fishing over the previous 10 days was not that great...(unless you like stingrays) we decided to go for a look over the Islands and flew up to the Hole in the rock. The views were breath taking and the commentary was awesome. I only wish the flight was about 2 hours longer, it was great! Thanks once again for this priceless experience, everyone was so helpful and pleasant and obviously love their jobs. Keep up the great work. We would recommend this trip to everyone.

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank JennyFeb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

You're very welcome - glad you made the decision to fly with us over the Bay of Islands, we love sharing this area with everyone - flying is the best way to see just how beautiful it is.
Cheers from the Salt Air team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I took the 20 minute flight out to Hole in the Rock - the scenery was georgeous. Tom was our pilot and he was excellent!! Gave great commentary and even turned us to the side a few times to see a large manta ray (said he had never seen one from the air before), a pod of dolphins and even a school of fish. I'm so glad I did this. I was solo, and they easily paired me with a couple so that I could go up. It was definitely a highlight of my 3 week trip!! I also purchased the picture and DVD package. Am looking forward to seeing it and sharing with friends and family.

Highly recommended!!

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank Helenthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Great you saw so much on your flight, lucky you! Thanks for sharing your comments about our helicopter flight, we appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We took this flight to save the long drive to Cape Reinga and were not disappointed
Saw many areas from the air not visible from the ground. We landed near the Cape and were taken by car to the light, Te Hapua Bay and sand boarding.
Very competent pilot coped
very well with a difficult crosswind take off. Then let himself down by spending about 1/4 of the flight receiving and sending texts!! Very unprofessional . In one instance the plane went into a slow left hand turn out to sea.
Pilots in VIsual flight conditions should be looking out side not texting!!! So no excellent rating

2  Thank 421eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Certainly very pleased you enjoyed the flights and the tour, thanks for the positive feedback.
We are taking your comments in regard to the text messaging seriously and will be firm on this with pilots. We do from time to time request our pilots to text us briefly for communication with base if they are not in VHF radio range, this however should always be very quick and not interfere with the operation of the aircraft. Thanks for alerting us on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We loved out experience with Salt Air. Having planned a romantic island picnic and helicopter flight, we were gutted when the weather turned on us. Salt Air could not have been more obliging and rescheduled us in a work to "make it work". This is an owner-operated business and Grant Hamysh really shows how to do this well.

Thank RestnRecreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltairpaihia, Manager at Salt Air Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Grant will no doubt be pleased with your comments, great that it all turned out well for you after weather disruptions, we always try to ensure we can provide alternative options when this happens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews