We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
CD
Kaiwaka, New Zealand

Great accommodations and hospitality!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Feb 2024via mobile
The property was located within easy walking distance to everything. Viv was a great host and so friendly. It was great having the toilet separate from the shower area. Very nice patio to enjoy the view and was close enough to enjoy a nice breeze and the sound of the waves crashing. I hope to return again.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $143
  • Agoda.com
    $124
  • Hotels.com
    $150
0.3 km from Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Lounge
Booking.com
$154
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $129
  • Expedia.com
    $161
0.3 km from Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$170
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $138
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$120
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $120
0.5 km from Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heated pool - all year!
Booking.com
$113
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $94
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $165
0.4 km from Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$228
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $228
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $228
0.5 km from Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $282
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $123
  • Official Hotel
0.5 km from Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $154
  • Agoda.com
    $109
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
116
24
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
24
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main bedroom the kitchen two bedroom apartment a great stay self contained town centre viv waterfront wharf penthouse views bay spa host toilet dryer waitangi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2024 via mobile

We loved our stay at Pioneer - only wished we could have stayed longer. Location is fantastic right on the beach and would definitely recommend a sea view as you wake up to a lovely view over to Russell. Vivienne is a fantastic host and gave us a wonderful welcome after a long journey up north. She also checked in on us throughout our stay.
We are a family with two teens and the appt was perfect for us .

Room tip: Sea view recommended
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gate15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2022 via mobile

We stayed at one of the mid level apartment facing the waterfront. We had a comfortable stay.

The two bedroom apartment was well appointed. The bathroom appears to have been recently renovated. The kitchen had all the necessary equipments. Two large LED TV’s in the apartment (one in the main bedroom, the other on the lounge). Reasonable WiFi speed (free). The outdoor pool and spa were a bonus. On-site parking provided.

The location was too notch! Very quick walk to the wharf and town centre.

To nitpick, the bathroom can do with a hand towel rail, and the queen bed was very (too) soft!

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank garyaucknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2022 via mobile

Spent a 10 day holiday at Piahia and the Pioneer Waterfront Apartments.
The location is pretty much ideal with most things within easy walking distance. We had views across the bay to Russell plus the passing array early morning walkers (just no running round your room naked screaming ("I'm Free, I'm Free!) is recommended.
Property is well appointed with everything required for a self catering holiday, if that's your thing. Plenty of good eateries close at hand.
Viv the host is very welcoming, natural and helpful. Easy to see why this property is always near the top of reviews.
Have no problems recommending the Pioneer Waterfront Apartments for a Bay of Islands holiday.

Room tip: 1. Have alternative means of transport to maximise your vacation. 2. Bring a rain jacket as showers are frequent at most times of the year.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank toddytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2022 via mobile

Very welcoming! Facilities excellent! Room beautifully clean and comfortable. Good heating. Close to main road but no noise whatsoever. Washing machine and drier in unit whic is fabulous. Spa clean and lovely tkmyse. Really close to town, eateries, Waitangi, and boat to Russell. Will definitely stay again.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank millionmiler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2022 via mobile

Booked in for 2 nights - Room and facilities were awesome - big downer was the toilet being so small and very tight with the hand basin jambed up so close to the toilet bowl. Any person over 1.85 cm tall would have extreme difficulty sitting on that toilet. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and never seen such a restrictive toilet - even in asia. Put the toilet in the bathroom and you will have top class facilities.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Y965LObruceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews