We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I spent two nights here over the NZ labour day weekend. From the minute we arrived until departure we couldn't fault the facility or the kindness shown to us. I unfortunately injured my back just prior to driving up and the Manager Mark assisted us in every possible way. From carrying our cases to providing a heat pack and directing us to find medical treatment.
The apartments are beautifully appointed and immaculately clean and location overlooking the bay brilliant. Will definitely return and explore the area further in the future and this will be our choice of accomodation.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Joke060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PioneerManagers, Manager at Pioneer Waterfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Pioneer. We certainly hope you have a speedy recovery from your back injury ... and we look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back to the Pioneer and the Bay of Islands ... so you can explore many of the wonderful sights in Northland that you were prevented from seeing this time around. All the best, Mark and Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed here with friends in adjacent rooms on the second level overlooking the ocean, wow what a view! The rooms were very comfortable & had everything you could want on a short or long stay.

We stayed here in late August & even then (the winter) the outdoor spa pool was so warm & lovely! There is a bbq out the back near the pool so if you have kids you can bbq & supervise at the same time. The rooms are set out perfectly for both couples & families.

Another thing I'd just like to mention is that the coffee they provide is fairtrade coffee. Small thing make a difference :-)

I am an avid internet booker (Booking.com, Trivago, Wotif etc...) however this time, I'm not sure why, I called directly to reserve our accommodation & I'm so pleased I did! These guys are soooo helpful & friendly, I highly recommend staying here if you would like a guaranteed lovely stay in the beautiful BOI.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yeppoon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We have stayed in Paihia on lots of occasions over 20 years and have always found the Pioneer perfect for us. Whether with elderly parents, friends or family the two bedroom units are always inviting and have been immaculately maintained. They have full kitchens and very comfortable furnishings that are probably more suitable for a well furnished house than a short term rental apartment
The main attractions of Paihia are about 150 metres from your front door so that once installed, you will have no need of a car to enjoy all that is the magnificent 'Bay of Islands'

Room Tip: All of the units have good views apart from 7 and 8. 2 to 6 are closer to the road with unobstructed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a ground floor apartment with sea views for the Paihia half Marathon. Location was perfect, restaurants either side of the apartment, beach across the road, 5-8min walk to the town. Very clean and tidy, huge bathroom with spa and separate shower. Small seperate toilet. Two bed rooms, 1 king bed and two single beds in the other room. I did notice that there was only two face clothes but we could have asked for more. Doesn't seem like the appartments are serviced daily, not a major problem there is a vacuum if you need to use it. Washing machine and dryer located in the kitchen area, they even supplied the washing powder. Free wifi. Secure apartment. Friendly staff, small car park and parking is only available for 1 car per room as far as I could see. Didn't use the pool. Overall nice place to stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank toshnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

A group of my friends and i stayed at this motel for the first time last night, mark and vivian were the best hosts ever! Very welcoming and reasonable, caring and amazing people, easy to talk to, authentic people :) even introduced us to a few other beautiful locals at the near pub :) my friend Nga and i feel blessed to have met you all and stayed in this place, we would like to apoligise for our rudeness /loudness, and for the dramas we caused. We both feel ashamed for our actions that we dont 100% remember anyway One day we shall make it up to you. Your place is bloody exceptional and i wouldnt change a thing!! It feels very homely and loved which is hard to come across these days. Thank you SO SO much for having us for the night we really do appreciate it just wanted you all to know :) bless you all! Love from lani and nga (the waipu girls)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank lani8037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.4 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
484 reviews
0.8 km away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Waterfront Apartments

Address: 44 Marsden Road, Bay Of Islands | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: $224 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped 2 bedroom apartments in Paihia, gateway to the Bay of Islands. A home away from home as all apartments have spa baths, full kitchen, dining lounge area and patio with BBQ. On site pool and hot spa. Ticketing facilities for local tours, cruises and activities. 3 Minute walk to Paihia Village and Maritime Centre. Restaurants right next door. Your Bay of Islands home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Pioneer Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing