We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

A group of my friends and i stayed at this motel for the first time last night, mark and vivian were the best hosts ever! Very welcoming and reasonable, caring and amazing people, easy to talk to, authentic people :) even introduced us to a few other beautiful locals at the near pub :) my friend Nga and i feel blessed to have met you all and stayed in this place, we would like to apoligise for our rudeness /loudness, and for the dramas we caused. We both feel ashamed for our actions that we dont 100% remember anyway One day we shall make it up to you. Your place is bloody exceptional and i wouldnt change a thing!! It feels very homely and loved which is hard to come across these days. Thank you SO SO much for having us for the night we really do appreciate it just wanted you all to know :) bless you all! Love from lani and nga (the waipu girls)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank lani8037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017

This is the 2nd time we've stayed here and both times I must state that I cannot find anything whatsoever about which to complain. All of the units in this complex are 2 bedrooms and all contain full kitchens, laundry facilities, 2 Satellite TV's, barbecues and basically everything else one might need. Mark and Viv do a superb job of maintaining the delightful units clean and in tip-top shape. Location couldn't be better with beautiful ocean views from the front half of the building - the back half overlooks the pool area. Although we found rates substantially higher in 2117 than in 2114 we'd stay again at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Lanai on front units overlooks the harbour admiring tourists strolling by. The Lanai for the units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PioneerManagers, Manager at Pioneer Waterfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Great to hear your return to the Pioneer was enjoyable and thank you for your comments about the cleanliness of the apartments. While Pool View block of apartment does overlook the pool four of the six apartments get harbour views as well. Regarding the rates the Bay of Islands is a seasonal area an rates vary depending upon time of year ... we do try and keep our rates competitive with the other accommodation providers in the area. Please do feel free to contact us as a returning guest when you next decide to head to the Bay of Islands. Kind regards

Mark and Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We stayed here towards the end of our holiday in NZ and it was good to have such a lovely apartment with so much room. The location is close to restaurants, bars and the wonderful Movenpick ice cream shop-we came here every evening for our dessert. It is a 30 minute walk along the seafront to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Only wish I could have stayed longer. Both the room and the hosts were top class. Room was very clean, great bed, great facilities. Hosts could not do more to help and directed us to a fabulous meal. Cannot recommend enough. We will return and make more time for it.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PioneerManagers, General Manager at Pioneer Waterfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Really pleased you enjoyed your time here in the Bay of Islands and at the Pioneer. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future. Mark and Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

After a month in New Zealand our plan was to treat ourselves to a relaxing wind down in the Bay of Islands. Pioneer apartments fitted the bill exactly. Well appointed with all of the equipment you need, a pool and spa both well maintained and all just a couple of minutes from the pier in Paihia.
Mark and Viv who live on site and manage the apartments could not have been more helpful including jumping in the car to get me back to the pier when I left the sun cream behind. They are knowledgeable and came up with some excellent suggestions for trips and eateries.
A great end to a fantastic holiday. Could not recommend more highly.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FCOToole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PioneerManagers, Manager at Pioneer Waterfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write of your experience here at the Pioneer and great to hear your 'wind down' in the Bay of Islands was successful and just what you needed!
Obviously if we can ever assist in the future please feel free to contact us! Mark and Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.9 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
468 reviews
0.8 km away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Waterfront Apartments

Address: 44 Marsden Road, Bay Of Islands | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: $222 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped 2 bedroom apartments in Paihia, gateway to the Bay of Islands. A home away from home as all apartments have spa baths, full kitchen, dining lounge area and patio with BBQ. On site pool and hot spa. Ticketing facilities for local tours, cruises and activities. 3 Minute walk to Paihia Village and Maritime Centre. Restaurants right next door. Your Bay of Islands home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pioneer Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing