We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$96
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$151
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Palms Apartments(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$105
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Edelweiss Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$57
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
89
17
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas grillpenthouse apartmentmanager markspacious balconythe kitchenlovely apartmentbig bathroomwalking distance to shopsthese apartmentswashing machine and dryercould not have been more helpfulacross the roadnew zealandfree wifilocation was perfectan upgradehome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017

This is the 2nd time we've stayed here and both times I must state that I cannot find anything whatsoever about which to complain. All of the units in this complex are 2 bedrooms and all contain full kitchens, laundry facilities, 2 Satellite TV's, barbecues and basically everything else one might need. Mark and Viv do a superb job of maintaining the delightful units clean and in tip-top shape. Location couldn't be better with beautiful ocean views from the front half of the building - the back half overlooks the pool area. Although we found rates substantially higher in 2117 than in 2114 we'd stay again at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Lanai on front units overlooks the harbour admiring tourists strolling by. The Lanai for the units at the back overlooks the pool area
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PioneerManagers, Manager at Pioneer Waterfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Great to hear your return to the Pioneer was enjoyable and thank you for your comments about the cleanliness of the apartments. While Pool View block of apartment does overlook the pool four of the six apartments get harbour views as well. Regarding the rates the Bay of Islands is a seasonal area an rates vary depending upon time of year ... we do try and keep our rates competitive with the other accommodation providers in the area. Please do feel free to contact us as a returning guest when you next decide to head to the Bay of Islands. Kind regards

Mark and Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We stayed here towards the end of our holiday in NZ and it was good to have such a lovely apartment with so much room. The location is close to restaurants, bars and the wonderful Movenpick ice cream shop-we came here every evening for our dessert. It is a 30 minute walk along the seafront to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Only wish I could have stayed longer. Both the room and the hosts were top class. Room was very clean, great bed, great facilities. Hosts could not do more to help and directed us to a fabulous meal. Cannot recommend enough. We will return and make more time for it.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PioneerManagers, General Manager at Pioneer Waterfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Really pleased you enjoyed your time here in the Bay of Islands and at the Pioneer. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future. Mark and Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

After a month in New Zealand our plan was to treat ourselves to a relaxing wind down in the Bay of Islands. Pioneer apartments fitted the bill exactly. Well appointed with all of the equipment you need, a pool and spa both well maintained and all just a couple of minutes from the pier in Paihia.
Mark and Viv who live on site and manage the apartments could not have been more helpful including jumping in the car to get me back to the pier when I left the sun cream behind. They are knowledgeable and came up with some excellent suggestions for trips and eateries.
A great end to a fantastic holiday. Could not recommend more highly.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FCOToole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PioneerManagers, Manager at Pioneer Waterfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write of your experience here at the Pioneer and great to hear your 'wind down' in the Bay of Islands was successful and just what you needed!
Obviously if we can ever assist in the future please feel free to contact us! Mark and Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and a local friend joined me in a very pleasant stay at these very centrally located apartments - we had a two bedroom two bathroom one - well equipped kitchen most of which we did not use as many restaurants in the doorstep!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews