We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Sue E

Happy days

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Mar 2024
Julie and Martin were brilliant to us throughout our stay. We were upgraded to a first floor suite which had excellent self catering facilities, a lovely shower and comfy bed. They were very helpful in suggesting things we could do including suggesting a chocolate factory to visit! The motel is conveniently located close to a supermarket and petrol station, and the town centre is a short stroll away. We found it an excellent base to explore from.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Barlow, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments, responded to this review
Responded 5 Apr 2024
Thank you for your review, nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our handy location without being in the centre of town. A visit to the chocolate factory is a must for those of us with a sweet tooth! Hope to see you on your next visit to the Far North.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
Tripadvisor
$145
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$165
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest Room Private Hot Tub
Tripadvisor
$412
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$228
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.8 km from Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$138
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.9 km from Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $223
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $126
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heated pool - all year!
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $112
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
30
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews super close separate bedroom waitangi treaty grounds enjoyable stay perfect location stayed here units motel hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2024

Stayed here with Julie & Martin recently and they were very friendly, lovely hosts. The apartment had everything you could want, was extremely clean and close to the beach and an easy walk into the main township. Hope to return someday soon. James & Robyn

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trail18844854522
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Barlow, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Thank you for the review, James & Robyn,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is ideal, across the road from the supermarket and an easy walk to Paihia without being in the noise of the town.
Hope to see you on your next visit to the Far North.
Kind regards
Jule & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2024

Amazing and clean. Great host! Really close to the water and feels safe. The rooms are quite large and the bathroom is spotless clean. Feels like a real hotel not a hotel that’s run down or like a motel. Recommend. Away from bars so quiet in the night.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adventure48858270324
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Barlow, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2024

Thank you for your feedback. It's wonderful to hear that you found our motel spotless clean, and the rooms spacious. The proximity to the water and the feeling of safety are definitely important factors.
Your recommendation is much appreciated.
Kind regards
Julie & Martin
Owners/Operators

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2024

Julie was a warm, welcoming and accommodating host. I loved my stay. You can tell she puts great care into keeping her units clean and comfortable. There's a real personal touch to your stay too, as it feels like she welcomes you like family. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travel25649328936
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Barlow, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2024

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad you felt like your stay was a home away from home. 😊

We strive to be welcoming and accommodating making guests feel at home and relaxed. We so enjoy meeting people and see them enjoy all the Bay of Islands has to offer.


We appreciate your kind words about the cleanliness and comfort of our units.

Once again, thank you for choosing us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! I

Safe travels and warm regards,

Julie & Martin
Owners/Operators

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2024

“Girls trip” post Virgin cruise.
Beautiful 3-5 hour drive from Auckland.
We spent 3 nights at the Gateway Motel and were very comfortable in their 2 bdrm
Apt. Everything we needed for our short stay was provided. Julie was helpful recommending restaurants and day excursions for us. The apt was spotless with comfortable beds and a great shower. The beach, a great grocery store and town all within walking distance. Yes, I would return and recommend you give it a try. Thanks again Julie!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Deanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Barlow, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Thank you for the review Deanna, lovely to meet you all and see you enjoy your stay with us. Glad you found the apartment comfortable and our location walkable.
We hope to see you again, on your next trip to NZ.
Kind regards
Julie & Martin
Owners/Operators

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

fantastic accommodation, the hosts Julie and Martin were super friendly and helpful as other reviewers have commented. Rooms are very spacious and extremely well appointed with all you would need - comfy beds, quick wifi, great showers. Location is great - short 10-15 mins walk to centre which means it is quieter than on the town centre and very close to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jane6396
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Barlow, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Thank you for the review Jane,
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the quieter end of town. That's why we love it!
Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Far North.
Kind regards
Julie & Martin
Owners/Occupier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews