We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
284
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waitangi river new zealand the main house great hosts helpful suggestions useful information perfect place to stay local area other guests boat trip three nights a wonderful stay home away from home colleen accommodation views bay
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

We spent three nights at Appledore Lodge. We were very warmly welcomed by Colleen and Ashley. They were the perfect hosts and extremly helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and the riverview is amazing. This was our favourite acommodation on our NZ-trip.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidaRamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you for this lovely review. We so enjoyed your company and are always delighted to get positive feedback. Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Appledore Lodge in March.
All the other reviews will tell you about the Bay of Islands, beautiful views, comfortable room and great breakfast, but Colleen and Ashley are the star attractions.
From the time we arrived until we left they could not have been more friendly or helpful. Even organised for a local restaurant to pick us up and bring us home on my wife's birthday.
Thanks Colleen and Ashley

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Grey_Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Oh what a delight to read this and know that you had such a ball here with us! Thank you:) Warm regards, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

A very nice place to stay over and also a good breakfast.
A fantastic view over the river and a beautiful garden. There is also a swimmingpool and the rooms are just excellent. The owners are the best hosts, very friendly and always there to help or advise you. Delicious muffins for breakfast :-)
I can very much recommend this bed & breakfast.

Room Tip: best views, friendly hosts, excellent rooms, delicious breakfast
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank meeltje65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We do feel privileged to live with this beautiful view of the river and countryside! I am so glad you enjoyed the muffins - I do try and provide something different most mornings. And the swimming pool was very well used this summer with the high temperatures we had up here in the north of New Zealand! Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

The rooms at the river are extraordinary. It is beautiful to live in the pure nature. The host are very friendly and helpfull. It's worthwile to spend some nights at the Appledore Lodge and visit the nearby attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for your positive review. We never tire of looking out at the river and its changing moods and we do feel fortunate to live here where there is so much to see and do that is close together. The Bay is truly beautiful. Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

We spent the last three nights at Appledore Lodge, it was without doubt the most wonderful venue we stayed at. We had spent neary a month touring South and North Island early this year. Coleen and Ashley were the perfect hosts and extremely helpful in guiding us to local attractions not on our itinerary, if we are ever fortunate enough to return we would certainly stay with them. Our room had a fantastic view was spotlessly
clean. We arrived after a long day having flown from Queenstown and they provided us with a delicious platter of food.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

It was a pleasure to help you and host you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much that you would like to return. We look forward to it! Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews