We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$82
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Palms Apartments(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$168
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bounty Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
281
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaitangi rivernew zealandoutstanding hospitalitybooking activitiesthe main househomemade muffinsgreat hostshelpful suggestionsuseful informationbreakfast was deliciousperfect place to stayglass of winestayed longerlocal areanice roomplaces to visitboat trip
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018

A very nice place to stay over and also a good breakfast.
A fantastic view over the river and a beautiful garden. There is also a swimmingpool and the rooms are just excellent. The owners are the best hosts, very friendly and always there to help or advise you. Delicious muffins for breakfast :-)
I can very much recommend this bed & breakfast.

Room Tip: best views, friendly hosts, excellent rooms, delicious breakfast
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank meeltje65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We do feel privileged to live with this beautiful view of the river and countryside! I am so glad you enjoyed the muffins - I do try and provide something different most mornings. And the swimming pool was very well used this summer with the high temperatures we had up here in the north of New Zealand! Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

The rooms at the river are extraordinary. It is beautiful to live in the pure nature. The host are very friendly and helpfull. It's worthwile to spend some nights at the Appledore Lodge and visit the nearby attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for your positive review. We never tire of looking out at the river and its changing moods and we do feel fortunate to live here where there is so much to see and do that is close together. The Bay is truly beautiful. Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

We spent the last three nights at Appledore Lodge, it was without doubt the most wonderful venue we stayed at. We had spent neary a month touring South and North Island early this year. Coleen and Ashley were the perfect hosts and extremely helpful in guiding us to local attractions not on our itinerary, if we are ever fortunate enough to return we would certainly stay with them. Our room had a fantastic view was spotlessly
clean. We arrived after a long day having flown from Queenstown and they provided us with a delicious platter of food.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

It was a pleasure to help you and host you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much that you would like to return. We look forward to it! Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

We enjoyed our three nights at Appledore Lodge very much. We enjoyed the great knowledge that Colleen and Ashley has of the local area, which was of great value to us. We enjoyed their kind and helpful suggestions of things to see, activities to attend and restaurants to visit, they even made dinner for us – delicious! We enjoyed the tranquilizing sound of the river floating at the edge of the garden, sitting at the terrace of our Studio. A delightful setting, Appledore Lodge is the perfect place to explore the Bay of Islands. Our most sincere recommendations!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. The suites are of course more luxurious than the studio
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

What a lovely review! Thank you very much. It is great to know that our dinners and snacks are enjoyed by travel weary guests. The river is certainly a beautiful backdrop to the Lodge and can be very exciting when we have heavy rains. Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at Appledore Lodge. Colleen and Ashley made us feel most welcome and could not do enough to make our stay special. Their knowledge of the local area was invaluable. A delightful setting, Appledore Lodge is the perfect place to explore the Bay of Islands. We will certainly have it at the top of our list as a place to revisit.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for this lovely review. It is heartening to know that we do help our guests make the most of their time with us and in the region. We look forward to seeing you next time. Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews