We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$164
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bounty Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
155
53
22
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
53
22
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadone bedroom apartmentwashing machinepool towelsliquor storefamily stayunderground parkingstorage spaceapartment was cleanthe kitchenthese apartmentsbeach frontoutdoor furnitureper nightwalking distancefive nightsmain shops
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We stayed in an ocean view apartment and we were very disappointed. The beds were most uncomfortable very hard, with a very thin topper which offered no respite. Coupled this with an apartment which was like living in an oven, it was extremely humid and whereas at home one would turn on the air conditioning we just relied on three upright warehouse fans which just exacerbated the situation.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EasterBobtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Booked in early March for 1bdrm apartment in the so-called "5 stars hotel ". It was heavily overpriced. Not all the rooms are equipped with air-conditioning. However, the price remains the same as the room with air-conditioning. Definitely will not recommend to others who are planning to stay in Paihia and will not come back to stay in the future. The staff has no intention to change room or reduce price. Not a happy experience.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Joyce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

The good;
Close to Paihia
Friendly staff
Free wifi had good coverage and usually good speed (room 219)
The pool area had a nice subtropical look
Free onsite parking
Good range of sky (pay tv channels)
Room had been freshly cleaned, kitchen was clean and tidy, carpet was clean, bathroom was clean
Good check out time of 11am

The bad;
Being in the Ramada chain, we had high expectations of this hotel/apartment. Unfortunately our room did not meet these expectations.

While it was clean and tidy, there was a few things which made this a 2* review for us.

As there is no air conditioning, the room s exceedingly hot (the sun was on our room all day.) we were provided with two pedestal fans, however they were not able to provide any relief. We found it odd that a newly renovated hotel had no air conditioning.

In NZ this isn't usually an issue, however we stayed during February while we were having 28 degree days with 80% humidity, so aircon is appreciated.

The way this impacted on us, is that our room was towards the back of the hotel (room 219 is directly outside three of the main night clubs in Paihia.) we had to sleep with our windows open at night. The sound of music and drunk people yelling wafted in, but unfortunately seriously interrupted our sleep - especially at closing time at about 2 or 3 am (when we were serenaded with the continual yelling of "I will put you in hospital if you don't go.")

While the night clubs next door isn't really the fault of the hotel, air conditioning would have helped to alleviate the noise coming from next door, as the windows were double glazed and would have really reduced the noise.

At the rear of the hotel, we also border a multi level back packers. At 8pm a group of about 10 decided to have some drinks and play loud music - again, not usually a problem with aircon when you can close your windows, but this was incredibly frustrating when there is no aircon and the noise travels straight into the room.

Our front balcony had an obstructed ocean view - which was nice. However it had an unobstructed view to the corridor of an adjoining block of apartments. There were no screening nets in our room ( which was previously mentioned in other reviews. ) Our option was to put up with or, or completely close our curtains, which ruined both our view and airflow (as previously mentioned there was no aircon.) There is a photo attached of this.

In the morning when house keeping were servicing the rooms in the opposite corridor they could see directly into our apartment which was only 3m from where they were. Privacy curtains or screening is definitely needed.

Advertised a 42" tv but it was a 32". Not a big deal, but as my wife who is sight impaired struggles to see tvs clearly, we seek this out in hotels.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nztraveller134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Went here in January and was offered a room at an over inflated price for a room on the second floor overlooking the water. Took a look at the room before excepting and was shown to a room which had a hideous smell of damp ! Obviously we declined and looked elsewhere . Beware if you want somewhere at a reasonable cost and clean.....

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

This review is absolutely ridiculous....it would be like walking into a restaurant looking at the menu and prices and walking out and writing a 1 star review without even sampling the food and ambiance.

You did NOT stay at Edgewater....you walked into an apartment spent less than 5 minutes in there and then walked out.

For all the thousands of guest that have stayed with us over the summer no one has complained of it being damp. More so that particular apartment gets both morning and afternoon sun so hardly possibly for this to occur.


Overpriced....maybe for your budget but when you consider everything included in the nightly tariff I don't think so. Your own private waterfront balcony with a 180 degree view over the beautiful bay with all the boats, cruise ships, kayaks and swimmers...priceless. Lights of Russell and Paihia at night....priceless.

Free underground parking, free wifi, full kitchen and laundry facilities in your own apartment, 40 inch tv, large comfy bed with sea views.....the list goes on.

Unfortunately this review shows how useless Trip Advisor has become. This site, more commonly now, is little more than a venting page .

We have no problem receiving a low review...when it is justified . If we have a problem we will do whatever we can to resolve and rectify. Often guest have given us feedback on improvements we can make and in many cases we have implemented their suggestions.

Interesting when I look back on some of your other reviews you are very good at handing out 1 stars. I also note that you did not review anything else in Paihia...perhaps nothing came up to your high expectations and you moved on.

Write a review, give feedback but not on a 5 minute experience!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

stayed for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom sea view apartment on the 3rd floor, the view is lovely and the location is good, the room is spacious and clean, but there are some features missing that does not makes it 5*. We stayed in another complex in Paihia for 2 nights prior to staying here, we decided to stay longer as Paihia is so nice, it was just a shame they didn't have a vacancy for the rest of our stay, as it was cheaper and had everything. Would not stay here again, mainly because it's overpriced, can put up with the faults I've mentioned below, but when you are paying a premium price for something you expect to get what you are paying for.

1. There is no air conditioning only fans
2. Bed uncomfortable
3. No individual toiletries, just shower get/hand wash attached to the wall
4. Cleaning of the room is only carried out every 3rd night
5. Pool is cold
6. Cheap tea/coffee supplies
7. Internet is a bit hit and miss depending where you are in the apartment and what time you use it
8. Rooms are opposite each other and quite close, so you can see straight into the apartment opposite, there are
no net curtains in the main living room to pull across, so you either have to close the blackout curtains or put up
with people looking in at you
9. The second bedroom only has a small window which does not open and gets very warm at night unless you put
a fan on which then makes it noisy

Stayed: January 2016
1  Thank Haley4663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews