We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
245
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
245
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly hosts our room was spacious stayed nights enjoyed our stay wendy friands hill accommodation bay tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2020

We have enjoyed our stay with Phil and Wendy (who are really good hosts) very well, room and location was perfect - just a stroll down the hill towards the village. And a breakfast we still miss regularly!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brekebeen34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 August 2020

Thank you for the kind words. We hope you can come back one day again to enjoy our breakfasts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2020

The property is at a height and is very posh. The breakfast was out of the world. The best part is when we said we are vegetarian, Wendy offered us to make a delicious gourmet dish for us which included fresh mushrooms, tomatoes, asparagus, all from their farm. The fresh fruits included strawberry from their farm. It was an ultimate farm to table experience. Cannot ever forget the raspberry friands which Wendy had prepared. The breakfast spread was super. Thanks a lot to Phil for waiting for us till late in night as our flight was rescheduled. Thanks to both of you Super hosts, we enjoyed the stay at lot.

Room tip: Amazing Hosts and Breakfast
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travellerlife14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 August 2020

Thank you very much for your kind review - it's always challenging when we have travel disruptions, as we have all found out more than once with the current world conditions. We hope that you have come through this awful time safely, and we do wish that you can come back again some time in the future to enjoy our breakfast again. Best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

We spent two nights at this wonderful lodge,which is perfect for visiting the Bay of Islands and the Waitangi Treaty Grounds. Phil is a really funny host. You can have good conversations with him. The view on the bay is wonderful.

Room tip: A good Restaurant of you like fish and seafood: Alfrescos
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 250HarryP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 August 2020

Lovely review - so glad you enjoyed Phil's humour ......hope we see you again when the world can return to some normality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights beginning of January and couldn't fault our stay. Phil and Wendy are lovely hosts and prepare excellent breakfasts. Lovely choice and freshly baked friands each day with freshly brewed coffee. Bedroom was an excellent size with a large bed and great modern bathroom. Access to the deck and pool. Nice to sit outside for an evening drink listening to the kiwis in the gardens. Parking on site. Ten minutes walk downhill to the town but quite a steep climb back. We had a brilliant stay and would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dillybop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 August 2020

Thank you for the generous review - it seems sure a long time ago now January, and who would believe what has happened in the time in between. Now we find ourselves missing our guests and wishing they could come back again. It may be some time, but we hope to welcome you back to Decks of Paihia again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2020 via mobile

Thank you Wendy & Phil for a very comfortable stay. Our room was delightful and opened out onto a lovely pool area. The breakfasts were really nice and cooked by Phil. We stayed 3 nights and would love to have stayed longer. Pahia itself was great lots going on. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend a stay at the Decks of Paihia.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank skiesthelimit999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Thank you very much for such a great review. Phil and I do appreciate it. Hope to see you again in the future if you return to our beautiful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews