We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sue S
Hawera, New Zealand

Lovely stay

Review of Dolphin Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Dec 2023via mobile
Easy check in and lovely friendly host. Nice spacious upstairs room which was very clean and tidy. Only fault really was the very small shower which had nowhere to put soap etc. Easy walking distance to eateries etc and beach. A good stay & would def stay again
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Waterfront Suite
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $176
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $110
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $109
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $160
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
    $124
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$409
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $409
1.1 km from Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $132
  • Expedia.com
    $154
0.7 km from Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heated pool - all year!
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $96
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Dolphin Motel
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $161
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $65
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
197
169
40
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
197
169
40
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location night stay bed was comfortable comfortable stay centre of town dolphins motel unit wharf kitchen keys nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2023

I had a flat Tyre on my motorbike and the staff could not have been more helpful. They kept it safe there (even though I had gone out on a sailing trip) until it could be picked up and taken for repair.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Otata2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2023

This motel is old and tired the photography is not what you get when you arrive - TV batteries needed replacing TV rediculous furniture old tired broken - do your own dishes or b charged b/room dirty?

Room tip: Ask if theyhave refurbished the motel
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2023 via mobile

Firstly, I was impressed with Dolphin Motel management who merged our 2 separate bookings (one a smaller room configuration) so we could accommodate our guest for an extra $25/night without having to switch rooms the second night. We were given a spacious, modern upper floor room with 2 Queen Beds and a kitchenette with everything we needed. It was a comfortable stay, with some little things that could be improved to make it even better. We didn't expect reception to be unmanned in the afternoon- we pressed the buzzer twice. There were several welcome notes stuck to their door for each guest with keys in the room, but they were easy to overlook. A friendly maintenance man? did pass by shortly to point out those check-in notes and where to park our car. We could've used more hanging hooks, especially in the bathroom. More hangers and an extra mirror in the room would've also been appreciated. Bathroom door doesn't lock and there was no box of tissues around, but this seems to be the norm in north NZ. You actually need to read the instructions that was there to operate the TV- it had a Mi Stick that sometimes shut down on its own. Was surprised to find Netflix available and we had some entertaining nights watching shows.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank woozie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2023 via mobile

This motel has an old and a new section. We stayed in the old section which is a bit tired but still clean and comfortable.
The location is ideally close to the centre of town including bars and restaurants.
Enjoyed the stay in a beautiful part of NZ.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Wirazzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2023

The Dolphin is an old-style 50's era motel in that all the rooms are ground level and accessible from the street. Having said this, it has been updated extensively and is a top-notch place to stay in Paihia. Its location to the wharf (and bus stop) is within easy walking distance. The Countdown grocery store is even closer. On a clear night I also think it would be a good place for stargazing.
As for the room, ours was spacious, clean, modern, quiet and very functional. The bed was comfortable.
We had no complaints at all with Dolphin and would recommend it for a stay in Paihia.

Room tip: Book a superior king studio.
Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews