We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
$145
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$129
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
CJB
Tauranga, New Zealand

Great location, good value

Review of Bounty Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Mar 2024
After reading mixed reviews I was somewhat hesitant about our stay here but was pleasantly surprised. Room 26 was upstairs with a nice outlook towards the sea and hardly a walk into town. A slightly unusual layout but spacious, super king bed, functional kitchen, great shower, and a bonus of Sky TV. We would stay here again.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Waterfront Suite
Booking.com
$223
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $223
  • Agoda.com
    $185
  • Expedia.com
    $223
0.1 km from Bounty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Studio
Booking.com
$158
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $157
  • Tripadvisor
    $157
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Bounty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$120
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $120
  • Agoda.com
    $110
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Bounty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest Room Private Hot Tub
Booking.com
$412
  • Expedia.com
    $412
  • Tripadvisor
    $412
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Bounty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $115
  • Expedia.com
    $140
1.0 km from Bounty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $157
  • Hotels.com
    $165
0.9 km from Bounty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heated pool - all year!
Booking.com
$113
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $98
  • Trip.com
0.9 km from Bounty Motel
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
$209
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $209
  • Algotels
    $168
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Bounty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$154
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $101
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Bounty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $141
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Bounty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
146
134
34
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
146
134
34
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location king studio restaurants and shops central location enjoyed our stay good size couple of nights one bedroom apartment new zealand town centre paul motel bay nz waterfront upstairs jetty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2024 via mobile

Budget motel with a great location one block back from the seafront and 500 metres from the wharf and town centre.

The room was large with a separate small kitchenette and a separate toilet/bathroom. Wi-fi was good. The motel has free parking.

There is no air-conditioning and whilst we were there the weather was 26C. At night our sleep quality was poor as a result of the heat.

Very good value for money and great for a one or two night stay.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2023

Avoid garden Room 3 - smelt musty-damp 🤧

At checkin the Manager mentioned the Motel was fully booked.

I experienced breathing difficulties within minutes of entering the room, our only choice was to vacate to avoid an asthma attack

We found alternative accommodation, returned the room-keys to the apartment behind the office - reception closed at 7pm

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trail68012141386
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bounty Motel, General Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2023

Sorry that happened as last room we had and if you had that medical problem should have mentioned it to us as we have wonderful plants and trees on property
We did refund you.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2023

I wish i'd had longer in this part of NZ. Motel was fine and handily placed for town centre and the ferry to Russell across the bay. Warm welcome and a decent room with comfortable bed and parking right next to room door.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PDGBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2022 via mobile

The man who checked us in was a lovely friendly chap.
Really good central location.
When we opened our unit door - straight into the main bedroom- , squeezed past the bed into the rest of the unit we got a mixed impression. The beds were very comfortable & appeared clean. The toilet seat was super rough - like it had been scratched alot. There were several stains on the carpet - we all left our shoes on because there was a grubby/not well maintained feel to the place. The bathroom & kitchen had been cleaned well, except for some brown drips on a beam & the shower seals were discoloured/ mouldy .
The sofa arms were stained & greasy.
We were in a downstairs unit, the noise from people walking in the unit above us was LOUD.
Outside there were alot of weeds & a strange line of rusty furniture was on the grass outside our window.
Overall the place needs maintenance.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FM157
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bounty Motel, General Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2022

Thanks for your review.Yes I recall you quite well and in time you stayfe not a word was said about any problems.Otherwise we could attended to them.
It would have helped and for the price and location at least I reckon it was still a a good deal.
If there were so many problems and were unhappy we would have refunded your stay.We usually have happy guests as previous reviews have said and on innumerable other sites.
Incidentally we have a backdoor and front door to unit.After nearly 3 years of Covid shutdown it affected budgets to spend and having lost $300,000 during that period and lack of staff that doesnt help in the scheme of things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2022

On arriving for my 3rd stay at Bounty, I was delighted to find Paul the manager, was still working there. As usual, I was greeted to a very warm welcome, more like an old friend than a casual visitor.

The motel offers very clean and comfortable rooms, at a very competitive price when compared to others in Paihia. Its location is only 2-3 minutes' walk from all the shops, bars and restaurants and only 1 minute from the waterfront.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bounty Motel, General Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2022

Thank you Paul for your comments and rating.Yes it was good to have you back again to stay here.
Really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews