We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
278
287
88
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
287
88
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two queen beds buffet breakfast motel style superior room ceiling fan new zealand hotel restaurant good size centre of town lovely room air conditioning swimming pool large bathroom an upgrade sea front would stay again spent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We have just spent 4 nights there for the Jazz Festival and was very impressed with everything about the hotel. The staff were all very helpful, the rooms clean and nice and very good value for money.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank daharpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Hotel Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Good afternoon daharpers,

Thank you very much for your 5/5 rating and review via www.tripadvisor.com,

We appreciate the feedback and it is pleasing to read your comments.

See you next festival!

Kind regards,
Ramon James - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Loved staying here, large well appointed rooms with decent coffee machine, sky sports and movie channel. Plenty of lounging space. Sadly I came in winter so could not use the pool. I also had breakfast which was good (sadly no baked beans on offer), the dining and bar areas were good and spacious. I will be back... also location was central to the bars and restaurants and beaches and ferry to Russell.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank 818petey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Hotel Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Good afternoon Pete Y,

Thank you very much for the 5/5 and review via www.tripadvisor.com for Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, Paihia.

Great to see you loved our property and what we have to offer, hope to see you again very soon!

Kind regards,

Ramon James - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Rooms were large and well appointed and very clean.Bed was perfect.The staff were very obliging and friendly. Breakfast was excellent even though it was quiet.Stayed here 7 years ago and liked it then.This time totally impressed.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jamesbM9194FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Hotel Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Good morning James B,

Thank you for the 4 star rating and also taking the time to review us online via www.tripadvisor.com, we do appreciate it!

You online review is testament to how hard we are working as a team and it is pleasing to read. I have passed this onto the team.

Hope to see you again in the gorgeous Paihia.

Kind regards,
Ramon James - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We stayed during a coach trip of NZ. The hotel is in 2 story blocks, requiring a short walk in the open from your room to the restaurant and reception. We had a ground floor room backing on to the gardens. The vegetation is quite tall so no views at all and a slightly musky smell (but not damp). Its a 10/15 minute walk to the shops and harbour. Its a short trip from there across to Russell Island which is really worth a visit. Room has everything you need, food and staff Ok

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Hotel Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Good afternoon Simon E,

Thank you for your online review and rating for Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, Paihia.

Our location is a key aspect of our success, we are very lucky indeed. As a hotel, we would advise that Russell is well worth a visit for lunch, dinner, walk or similar.

We certainly hope to see you in fantastic Paihia again sometime soon,

Kind regards,
Ramon James - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We had a pleasant stay at the Scenic Hotel Bay of Island, lovely room with all the modern cons. The hotel is in a perfect location and an easy walk into town along the main coastal road. Breakfast was delicious with all that you could want or need.
We would certainly recommend staying here as the Bay of Islands is a beautiful part of New Zealand not to be missed.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BendigoVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Hotel Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Good afternoon BendigoVic,

Thank you so much for the 5/5 rating!

Your recommendation means a lot to us and we are pleased to read that you loved our breakfast offering and location. Our location, service and food are certainly key to our success and something we are proud of.

We do hope to see you in this amazing part of the world again sometime soon,

Kind regards,
Ramon James - Hotel Manager
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands, Paihia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews