We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveller rating
276
287
86
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
287
86
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo queen bedsbuffet breakfastmotel stylesuperior roomlovely hotelceiling fannew zealandhotel restaurantgood sizecentre of townlovely roomair conditioningswimming poollarge bathrooman upgradesea frontwould stay again
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 667 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We stayed during a coach trip of NZ. The hotel is in 2 story blocks, requiring a short walk in the open from your room to the restaurant and reception. We had a ground floor room backing on to the gardens. The vegetation is quite tall so no views at all and a slightly musky smell (but not damp). Its a 10/15 minute walk to the shops and harbour. Its a short trip from there across to Russell Island which is really worth a visit. Room has everything you need, food and staff Ok

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Hotel Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Good afternoon Simon E,

Thank you for your online review and rating for Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, Paihia.

Our location is a key aspect of our success, we are very lucky indeed. As a hotel, we would advise that Russell is well worth a visit for lunch, dinner, walk or similar.

We certainly hope to see you in fantastic Paihia again sometime soon,

Kind regards,
Ramon James - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We had a pleasant stay at the Scenic Hotel Bay of Island, lovely room with all the modern cons. The hotel is in a perfect location and an easy walk into town along the main coastal road. Breakfast was delicious with all that you could want or need.
We would certainly recommend staying here as the Bay of Islands is a beautiful part of New Zealand not to be missed.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BendigoVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Hotel Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Good afternoon BendigoVic,

Thank you so much for the 5/5 rating!

Your recommendation means a lot to us and we are pleased to read that you loved our breakfast offering and location. Our location, service and food are certainly key to our success and something we are proud of.

We do hope to see you in this amazing part of the world again sometime soon,

Kind regards,
Ramon James - Hotel Manager
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands, Paihia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

This is a lovely hotel, walking distance to the Paihia wharf. Very clean and comfortable room. the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay again and highly recommend this hotel.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Hotel Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Good afternoon HGC_18,

Thank you very much for your 5/5 rating and taking valuable time to review our hotel here.

Your recommendation is well received and we are happy you found our team very welcoming.

We hope to see you again sometime soon,

Kind regards,
Ramon James - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We stayed three days, the hotel was well located, very clean, staff very keen to please and the breakfast enough. The food in the restaurant was more than ample and delicious, as gluten intolerant finding good and tasty food is difficult therefore I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waterman1Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Hotel Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Good afternoon Waterman1Aust,

Thanks very much for rating and reviewing Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands, Paihia online via www.tripadvisor.com

We do appreciate all feedback and certainly hope to see you again very soon,

Kind regards,

Ramon James - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

This is a lovely hotel with accommodation in individual chalet rooms raised above the ground and set in a beautiful treescaped garden. Good food in the restaurant in the evening and a lovely buffet breakfast in the morning. A nice, but small, swimming pool in the grounds with sitting area. Staff were all very friendly and attentive. Quiet location on the edge of town. A beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank B705EGjohnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Hotel Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Good afternoon B705EGjohnw,

Thanks very much for rating and reviewing Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands, Paihia online via www.tripadvisor.com

We do appreciate all feedback and certainly hope to see you again very soon,

Kind regards,

Ramon James - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews