We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer and Burgers”

Thirty30 Craft Beer Bar
Ranked #14 of 68 Restaurants in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Thirty30 is a craft beer bar with an added bonus of serving a full menu including our house made specialty burgers from open to close everyday. So if you're feeling hungry say 10 or 11pm, call in & we'll be more than happy to feed that hungry soul. We strongly support NZ & locally owned and made products & we are proud to support small NZ beer companies including, Hawkes Bay Breweries, McLeods, Hallertau, Moa, Sawmill, Parrotdog, Sunshine, Garage Project, Ora & Good George. We currently have available on tap, Hawkes Bay Amber Ale, Pure lager & a very popular 'Ginger Fusion.From Sawmill, red IPA & from McLeod's in Waipu their Tropical Cyclone Double IPA. We also stock NZ wines and a range of NZ non alcoholic drinks including Taha. All NZ owned! Yes we do coffee, & take away too! Live music is provided on a regular basis. Don't miss our famous Jam night from 7pm every Sunday, showcasing the best Northland has to offer! Call in sometime, say hi, & enjoy the best courtyard in Paihia!
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Stayed in Paihia recently and enjoyed some amazing beer (recommend the smooth Amber Ale) and smashed some amazing $6 veggie burgers!

The place also always had this chilled out and friendly vibe too :)

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MackemAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2017

We visited this bar for dinner during our recent stay in Opua as we were looking for somewhere which offered live music, which both DH and I enjoy. It has a smallish indoor seating section and much more outdoor seating where those who wish to smoke may do so.
The menu is fairly simple, with a variety of burgers, fish and chips, and snack foods. The beer and wine menu has a good variety though a is typical of bars there isn't a huge variety of soft drinks. I was however pleasantly surprised to find iced coffee on the menu, which I ordered and enjoyed. While we were enjoying the music of the Liquid Honeys, a (mostly) jazz duo of piano and bass guitar playing ladies, we had a basket of potato wedges with sour cream and sweet chilli sauce, and a bit later we each had a burger. Both burgers had delicious juicy homemade meat patties- so juicy that they tended to disintegrate and get a bit messy towards the end :-).
Being seated right next to the performance area we were able to chat with the ladies during their breaks, and it was a most enjoyable night out. A quirky Valentine's Day but one that suited us both!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YorkFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Revisiting this place after years (under a new name and management probably) anticipating a good burger I was pretty disappointed. Opting for a classic beef burger which seemed to be put together in no time and lacked flavour. Shame... it used to be the best place in Paihia for a kiwi burger. 4/10

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank G2017S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at Thirty30 Craft Beer Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Hi there,
Thirty30 has been here a few years now and yes is under new ownership from the previous brand. We changed a few things at the bar.
One of the things is that we make our own burgers. We prep them before service and then cook to order, so depending on how busy it is our chefs get food out quite quickly. Our beef is from Northland, NZ.
I am disappointed to hear that your burger lacked flavour and wish you had brought it to the attention of our staff at the time.
I do appreciate your time to review us and hope you will come and try us again some time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

This pub was very conveniently situated from our hotel. They had free wifi. They served food ,Cocktails and had live music playing in the evening.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank ErylAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Good craft beers on tap and an extended selection of beers and wine in bottles. The burgers are excellent. With happy hour prices, you can eat here for less money than any place in town and still get the best burger and beer in Paihia.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank JGrahamK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thirty30 Craft Beer Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Thirty30 Craft Beer Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing