We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and mighty”
Review of El Cafe

El Cafe
Ranked #2 of 11 Quick Bites in Paihia
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: Casual relaxed small Cafe with allpress coffee; authentic Latin American style food, refreshing drinks, high speed WiFi and music less than 10 minute walk along the beach from Paihia town center.
Reviewed 23 February 2024

The food is brilliant, have eaten here every year since it opened on our trips to the Bay of Islands. The breakfast burrito is luxurious, the pork one is yummy. The guacamole is generous, everything is just tasty yet humble and unpretentious. The owner has a food technology background, is no slouch with ingredients, the kitchen is clean, small and mighty. Go there, support local.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jomackiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2023

I couldn't resist to my Favorite smoothie in Nz, the Cool Bananas and this time I tried the amazing Cuba Sandwich... omg super good!!
Beautiful staff FOH and in the kitchen!!
I will definitely come back!!

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ignaciofvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2023 via mobile

Fantastic quick breakfast and coffee. Lovely small Cafe with friendly vibe. Homemade muesli was yum! These small businesses have suffered during COVID so it matters that we all support them. Highly recommend El Cafe!

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank solartravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2022 via mobile

Love the piccolo!!! Best I’ve had for a while. Had fish tacos yesterday and came back for huevo rancheros for breaky - it’s that good!

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank muddybrunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2022

We always have breakfast at El Cafe when we visit Paihia. Good coffee and we love the breakfast burritos. Great to see the staff wearing masks too. Thanks!

Date of visit: July 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank howmanyroads19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed El Cafe also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to El Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.