We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BLT’s”
Review of El Cafe

El Cafe
Ranked #3 of 12 Quick Bites in Paihia
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: Casual relaxed small Cafe with allpress coffee; authentic Latin American style food, refreshing drinks, high speed WiFi and music less than 10 minute walk along the beach from Paihia town center.
Reviewed 9 January 2022 via mobile

We just felt like a sandwich for lunch and did a search coming across El Cafe. We all had the BLT (bacon lettuce and tomato) sandwich with iced coffees (blended or not, we love blended) and they were yum and a tropical smoothie, also very delicious. The BLT’s were perfect and fit the bill, just what we wanted! Everything is takeaway although there are tables you can sit down at outside. It was great to see the recycling being done on site with customers being asked to put their rubbish in the right bin - more places should do this. Hot coffee is also good (as it became our go to while there on holiday) so definitely fans!

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank KC-NZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2021

Fab food, good service, most decadent hot chocolate I've had in a long time, if I was local it would be my regular haunt

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank hethfeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2021

Popped in for a takeout coffee - was so good so went back for another and stayed for lunch. So yummy! I had the vegetarian burrito and my husband the breakfast burrito - full of flavors and big portions. Kids had chocolate milkshakes which they loved. Great service, great coffee, great food - we will be back.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 988annaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

We were so glad we found this place early on. We visited at least once a day and found service and food consistently amazing. It is a place that shows how good fresh produce makes the meals beautiful. Simple food done at its best. We were sad to leave our holiday and have to go home and cook. We will be back

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2020 via mobile

Great coffee and delicious breakfast, not the usual boring menu.. Cosy little cafe, friendly owner. Well priced.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank OdyPudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed El Cafe also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to El Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.