We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BHSheffield
Sheffield, United Kingdom

Sadly no longer like the website photos

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 May 2023via mobile
This was supposed to be our treat hotel at the start of a 6 week NZ trip however it is need of a massive refurbishment programme and bears no relation to the photos on the website. If you are travelling with Trailfinders I suggest you ask for a different hotel, they charge an eye watering amount to stay here, we stayed for 1 night out of our booked 4 and that’s only because we couldn’t find anywhere else for our first night. I’ve never left a 1 star review for anywhere but sadly it’s deserved for this hotel, the only saving graces were that the staff tried their best and the breakfast was surprisingly good despite being a 1 menu 1 drink only option.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Twin Studio
$157
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest Room Private Hot Tub
$411
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$153
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $163
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $115
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $101
  • Expedia.com
    $112
0.3 km from Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $114
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heated pool - all year!
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $146
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $111
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
237
109
45
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
237
109
45
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glasshouse restaurant direct access to the pool top floor pool area breakfast included new zealand travel agent across the road reception staff stayed for nights private balcony treaty grounds stunning views comfy bed pools naturale jets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2023

A lovely property that has not been maintained and refreshed - for a 5 star property attracting $500 / night not including breakfast it is clearly way too pricy for what it is and the photographs on the website do not reflect the actual condition of the property. That said we loved the breakfast and feel of The Glasshouse restaurant which is part of the property. Housekeeping was poor and the room was not serviced well in spite of providing feedback. We were also disappointed that in spite of booking almost a year ahead and requesting a room with a view we got what was probably the worst room ~ avoid rooms 107 and 108! An investment to refresh and renovate the property and improve housekeeping will make it a great place to stay in.

Room tip: Property is very dated and in need of maintenance - you can get better value elsewhere
Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Sanjay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2023

We thought we were booking the best hotel in town and happily paid a rate of $350 excluding BF ,the experience we had was horrendous starting with basic facilities even an Air BNB would offer like WiFi did not work ,no staff at the reception at all time except check inn where only keys were handed with no further discussion, no parking on site was available as the property is undergoing some dispute we studied ,we were on double occupancy with room having amenities for one occupant only no milk pods in the room ,all night the mini bar made a wired noise in the morning we called reception no answer we had to go extra mile to order for two coffees to the room which when arrived smelled absolutely burnt.
On check out we took down the two cups full to be able to communicate the issues faces the GM arranged at the desk and said we were late for check out addressed that the check in and out time is on the check in agreement that’s signed by us and expected us to read every detail but did not accept that the reception staff needs to share all of this during guest arrival as a part of enhancing a 1st timers experience!! Honestly the most disappointing stay I had being a part of the hospitality industry for over 10 years I feel they failed to meet the bare minimum .

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Journey64379546019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2023 via mobile

You can’t get a better spot in Paihia than this. It’s within walking distance to Waitangi and the main wharf, plus it’s right across the road from an excellent beach and playground. If you’re on one of the higher floors there is a view over to Waitangi.

The staff were all really friendly with us and we couldn’t fault the food or the restaurant.

Reading back in the reviews, yes the place needs a makeover but our room was clean and had everything we needed including a kitchenette and free, good wifi. You’re not paying extortionate prices to stay here and I’m sure if they had a Reno, they’d charge more. So enjoy the great value while you can.

There are some simple things that could be done to make it a little bit better. It felt like the whole place could have a water blast to bring it up to scratch. The ground around the pools could use a daily clean. Felt like the inside maintenance was there but outside was lacking.

Was also disappointed that the bar/restaurant wasn’t available all day for those poolside. Would have been great to get drinks. Plus restaurant had closed when we asked for lunch around 1:45pm. But it didn’t dampen our spirits as we just brought down our own drinks and snacks from the room.

Those were small things and the view, pools, spa, location and friendly staff far outweighed those small details. We’ll be back for sure!

Room tip: Bring your own wine/beer/snacks to eat and drink poolside. There is also a supermarket within walking distance if you don’t.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank nellyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nilanjan C, Guest Services / Front Office at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2024

Thank you . It was lovely to host you and looking forward to see you again
Regards Nilanjan C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2023

Do not be deceived, as I was, by this hotel’s photos on the website. The hotel is in very poor condition; damp, dank, tired and nothing close to a “5-star resort”. The best thing I can say is that the sheets and towels were very clean—thank goodness. The place is in need of a complete overhaul from top to bottom. We could not even enter through the front door of reception because the hotel is in some sort of dispute with adjoining property owner and apparently lost the right to use its front entry and parking lot. . Our driver had to park on a side street and we wheeled our luggage through an underground car park. A horrible first impression which was only magnified when we opened the door to our 2-BR apartment. If you are looking to stay in this area for a few days, I would suggest hopping a ferry (short ride) to Russell, which has lovely places to stay and a quaint bar, restaurant and shopping vibe.

Room tip: Do not stay in Paihia. Hop a short ferry to Russell and stay there instead!
Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank X2901OKmicheled
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2023

Very spacious. We had a room with large King size co mfy bed + a little sitting/ lounge room & quite a large kitchen and balcony which overlooked a heated pool & a number of heated spas.
TV was great and surroundings are generally very comfortable & nice to be in. Young fellow at Reception was VERY helpful and friendly.
Overall building & interior perhaps looking a little tired but very clean and spacious as I said.
Parking was a bit of an issue and you will DEFINANTLY need a car to go anywhere at all!

Room tip: Have a car - this is a MUST.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews