We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
180
80
28
21
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
80
28
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room top floor pool level small hotel hotel restaurant is direct access to the pool new zealand poolside room third floor breakfast and dinner luxury accommodation large balcony stayed for nights over christmas travel agent across the road two night stay
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

We arrived yesterday for 2 nights and are so disappointed that we spent approx $1000 in what is 3 star accommodation with an awesome view. The rooms are old and run down. The bathroom has rotted wood at the base of the vanity and I am looking at the kitchenette with whatever has splashed up at the kickboard and not been cleaned. Even after this morning’s clean, the bandaid wrapper from a prior guest is still on the floor (next to the spider in the cobweb next to the desk). I dare not sit on the couch or use the spa because the place feels grotty and looks it. It’s old, as proven by the tape deck in the stereo system. While it has a newish TV we are stuck with whatever is on TV as it won’t allow us to access pay per view.
I’ve taken plenty of pictures and will be taking this further as the hotel and booking sites are misleading people into paying a premium claiming its 5 star luxury accommodation. I have stayed in plenty 4 and 5 star accommodations and this is far from it.
We were so looking forward to coming here but feel completely ripped off.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank addictedtotravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear addictedtotravel75,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sorry to see that you had a bad experience at our resort but be please be assured that this has been acknowledged and will be passed onto to our housekeeping and maintenance department.

If you had brought this to our attention when you checked in we have moved you straight away into another room category as well as upgrading you for the inconvenience.

If you would like to talk to someone from the resort feel free to contact us.

Kind regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2019 via mobile

This is a clean, modern hotel across the road from a sandy beach and children's play area. It is only a short walk from the town which has all the shops and amenities of this popular resort. The restaurant has an interesting "sharers" menu where you can select a variety of dishes to share. Each room looks out over the beach with fantastic views. A great place to stay.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank peterjW1883VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2019

Dear peterjW1883VG,

Thank you for your kind review!
We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and we had everything you needed.

Our restaurant has had a complete transformation so it is nice to see positive feedback and will carry on providing good quality food and service.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2019

Loved the location of the hotel, 10 min walk into town and the view is amazing. It's supposed to be their busy time but we found it empty which was nice. There are only ~15 rooms - small and quaint. We have a family of 5 so we booked the 2 bedroom apartment. It was at the end of the hotel which was nice and quiet. A few things to note: food/drink service by the pool was not great, the hotel is closed for dinner Sunday and Monday. The apartment has a small kitchenette however they don't provide regular glasses or paper products which I found odd. The rooms are a bit older but because of location but I would stay here again. The staff overall was very friendly.
The kids had breakfast there and they said it was delicious.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SheriN545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2019

Dear SheriN545,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

We are pleased you found it nice and quiet, it is our most busiest time of the year but the majority of guests staying with us had booked day tours so we glad to see you benefited from having the pool area all to yourselves.

We will pass your comments onto our restaurant team regarding the food and drink service as well as housekeeping concerning the amenities in your room.

Our restaurant had recently undergone a complete transformation and hopefully will be back open 7 days a week not just for breakfast but dinner as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019

Let's start by saying that is not a 5 star hotel. I am not quite sure what criteria they need to meet to keep up such a star rating;if it did cost less than $250 per night and was a 3 star, this review would have been good/very good.
Property: The property is nice, and the location Is great which is the savvier, however, is dated and a bit run-down.
The room: we had a deluxe studio apartment which was nice, however, the cleaning was questionable from check in. On our second day, they did not pick up empty bottles, empty the dustbin, remove used towels from the floor etc...
Staff: Between no-existent, unhelpful and unaware/disinterested on clients.

Swimming pool: no mans land woudl be the best way to describe it. empty trays of food left from previous clients for minutes on end, tables not being cleaned up within 30 minutes from patrons leaving after breakfast. If you need swimming pool towels, you need to go to reception and ask for it.While the bar/restaurant is located at the poolside-no staff would come to you asking what would you like.

Afterhour: For a 5 star, there isn't a 24/7 reception service which would be fine if they had a better way of allowing clients to come back at the propery after 9pm. (when reception shut).
While there is an emergency exit for Afterhours. if you have a pram or wheelchair, you are on a curfew, in that you are bound to come back within a designated time.

Overall, for the price is not worth it.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank biancolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2019

Dear biancolo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
We appreciate both positive and negative feedback as it allows us to make any changes or improvements.

Sorry to see that you felt the resort was not to your standard but please assured that your comments have been acknowledged and will be passed onto the relevant department to look into.

Kind regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

Linda in the spa makes you feel really welcome. She is a lovely lady and really wants to make sure clients leave happy. Linda fitted me in last minute. I would not hesitate to recommend this spa.

Thank you Linda your fab.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank MrandMrsPoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2019

Dear Mr and Mrs Poynton,

Thank you so much for your kind review!
A lot of guests enjoy having spa treatments especially with Linda who is so passionate about providing the best treatments for people. We will definitely pass on your comments to Linda and we are very lucky to have someone like Linda in our team.

Warm regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews