We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
173
76
27
19
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
76
27
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor pool level small hotel hotel restaurant is new zealand great balcony third floor breakfast and dinner luxury accommodation large balcony travel agent stayed for nights two night stay across the road sitting area main town stunning views
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2018

POSITIVES
* Stunning views from top floor
* Great bed
* Good food
* TOM. The maintenance man who fixes everything, from initial problems with wifi, to sorting out our luggage, to keeping the place in ship shape. That man is the pulse of the place and worth his weight in gold ... no ... double his weight in gold!
* BELINDA. Cleaned our room and addressed all with a smile and quick self initiated responses eg. We had a bathroom flooding problem from the shower and she left a couple of extra towels for us in case it happened again ... we didn’t even ask
* We were fortunate to be upgraded when we were given a room with compromised views and we had paid such high sums and expected more
NEGATIVES
* Shower flooded bathroom easily. This would seem to have been happening for some time as the shower door had swelled wood along the base and the bathroom cupboards had swelled wood
* Same with base of fridge cupboard
* Service in restaurant was great but requires refining to lift it to 5* level
* Furniture on balcony fine but no cushions, extra comfort touches. Basic.
* Car park was good but I don’t know how that works when the hotel is full as there are only about a half a dozen spots available. Again, for this price I would have been pretty cranky if we’d had to park in the street.
* The driveway into the car park is lined in some sort of mini wooden railing fence and this involved tight awkward cornering to progress through. Once you got to the end, you had to ensure the reception door was closed so you could drive through to the car park. That is 5*?

Needs some serious $ invested in our opinion to claim such star ratings.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Buddy2feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Buddy2feet,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
We appreciate both positive and negative points so please be assured all feedback has been acknowledged and will be passed onto the relevant departments to ensure improvements are made.

Thank you again!

Warm regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Great location and great food. But the quality of the rooms and access to the hotel is very poor, for the price paid. Our room had peeling wall paper, peeling paint in the bathroom. The safe was mounted so high in the wardrobe my wife could hardly reach it.
My wife wouldn't use the spa due to the state of our room concerned about the cleanliness of the spa. The reception staff which seemed different every day didn't seem to care. It is 3 star at best, but could be 4-5 stars with some investment and an attention to detail.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Richard W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay and sorry see you found the resort over priced and if you had let us know you were not happy whilst you were here we could have done something about it.

We appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative as it allows us to make changes or improvements.

Please know that your review has been acknowledged.

Kind regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Good views from a well equipped sea front hotel. Only a two night stay here. Handy for the town and the treaty grounds, both within easy walking distance. If you need to shop for food & other items avoid the nearby convenience store if you can - items in the town supermarket were half the price. Quite expensive accommodation but it delivered what we wanted.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear B P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

We are pleased that the resort had everything you needed and we have acknowledged your review.

Kind regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

The Paihia Beach Resort and Spa is a 5 minute walk from the central hub of Paihia. Consequently it offers a stylish and tranquil base for exploring the Bay of Islands Region. Rooms offer spectacular views and there is an excellent outdoor pool on the central terrace. Staff are friendly, motivated and hospitable. Breakfast is excellent and the dinner menu is original and enticing. That said, service in the restaurant tended to be glacial and one got the impression that staff were, on occasions, slightly overwhelmed. Notwithstanding this minor observation, this establishment is highly recommended for those who wish to explore this beautiful area of New Zealand.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the terrace offer immediate access to he pool
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardWiltshiireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear RichardWiltshiireUK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

We are pleased you had enjoyable stay with us and had everything you needed from our services and facilities.
We will pass your comments onto the restaurant team as we have recently got new team members.

It was lovely having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 14/15 February 2018. Found entrance after walking around the property (it's not clearly signed) and having visited reception we were told we could park underneath hotel where we obtained last space. There are only We 6 spaces and after this you can only park in the road at the side where you may be competing with others using only the restaurant.

The young lady on reception was very helpful and booked us a table at a restaurant down the road as hotel restaurant was full. She seemed to be on her own but helped us with our cases to the room. The room was large and could be used for self catering. It had views over the bay but there is a road between the hotel and the front. TV had extensive channel package.

Now for the disappointment. We were given a 30 NZD voucher for breakfast and of course decided to make use of this on both days. The restaurant is quite pleasant but small. Although we were amongst only a small number of diners 6 or 8 some of whom had been served we waited an age for anything to arrive. They had never heard of fresh orange juice and served something which was orange in colour with a consistency of a thick cream. This was all repeated on the second day except we waited even longer to be served and the event lasted almost one hour.

In summary nice hotel a little expensive perhaps but let down by its restaurant. In case anyone thinks we are the usual moaners two other couples both made the same comments at reception on the day we left.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kevdoo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear kevdoo2002,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are currently in the process of gaining more car park space.

Sorry that you were disappointed with restaurant and we will pass your comments onto the restaurant team.

Kind regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews