We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
546
147
18
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
147
18
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location waterfront suite sea view underfloor heating separate bedroom road noise free wifi the waitangi treaty grounds shops and restaurants the kitchen heat pump living area stayed for nights few minutes walk great place to stay across the road excellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We enjoyed everything about our visit here. First, the owners were very kind to accommodate our late arrival. The location was ideal - right across from the water and easy walking distance to everything in town. When we took a tour, they picked us up out front. So convenient! The amenities were nice and the space clean and well designed. We appreciated the friendly service and helpfulness throughout our stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank N7394JRcindyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

What a place to stay, right on the waterfront, but far enough away from the noise.
About 200m from shops and restaurants, 10m from wharf from the quick ferry ride to Russell. 2kms from Waitangi Treaty Grounds.
Great location with very comfortable rooms, views from balcony of Bay of Islands, Beds very comfy, Large bathroom with heated towel rails. Perfect for a get away

Room Tip: Get a room in the front. Room 8 has best views
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We stayed for two nights in a ground floor suite last weekend. The room was spacious and we liked how the extra couch converted into a bed - more comfortable than a sofa bed! The host was friendly on arrival and departure. The room was a quick stroll into town and everything was clean, bright, and well-equipped.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank aquathest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

We stayed at the Breakwater for four nights. The self catering apartment was spacious, beautifully clean and well appointed. The managers were very helpful with information, bookings and ensuring we had everything we needed for our stay. We recommend if possible to ask for an apartment with a view along the front or room 25 as it has a slightly restricted view as well. Some of the units may have views , but I couldn't tell. We stayed in 25 and thoroughly enjoyed the view from our balcony. The Breakwater is in a perfect location being a 5 minute walk to the main dining areas of town. Washing and drying facilities are available for a small extra cost.

Room Tip: If possible choose a room with a view.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestAussie_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hi WestAussie_54

Sincere thanks for this fabulous review of your stay in an Upper Seaview Suite and your recommendation. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay with us. For the benefit of fellow travellers - the Upper Seaview Suites have partial ocean views and the Waterfront Suites have the full ocean view.

Kind Regards
Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Very good location and easy place to stay. Exceptionally clean, warm and comfortable.
Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Probably worth while spending the extra to obtain a sea view, however, garden apartment is still very comfortable.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mkdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Kia Ora mkdt

We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of our motel. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews