We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveller rating
552
148
18
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
552
148
18
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location waterfront suite sea view underfloor heating separate bedroom road noise free wifi short walk shops and restaurants the waitangi treaty grounds the kitchen living area stayed for nights sky tv great place to stay across the road easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 727 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Very clean and updated! Lovely views of the water in the Bay of Islands. Owners are on site and very friendly and helpful. Short walk to all the action in Paihia. Rooms are very roomy with plenty of space even if you are pulling out the sofa bed. Highly recommend! Wish we could stay longer!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank swells1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Hi Suzanne W

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our motel and your kind words plus recommendation.

Kind Regards
Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

Centrally located near restaurants, shops and grocery store. We walked down to these with ease. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We noticed they had laundry access. We loved that our room was clean, modern and had air-conditioning. I made use of the kitchen to cook myself a meal. We had a relaxing and comfortable night after a long day of riding. We were able to park our bike right outside our room.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 507fridazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Hi 507fridazul

Thanks for your great review and for sharing your experience at our motel.

Kind Regards
Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Great views and facilities. Wonderfully heated for our whole stay. Easy walking distance to shops and restaurants . Owners very helpful with late check in and advice on places to visit. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SarahM15096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Hi SarahM

Sincere thanks for your recommendation and for your fabulous feedback of your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed in a waterfront suite and it was perfect - thank you. Beautifully clean, modern, comfortable and the views from these rooms are spectacular. Location is ideal - central and so close to wharf. Owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. We can't wait to return.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bridget C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hi Bridget C

We look forward to seeing you again and thank you so much for your wonderful feedback.

Kind Regards
Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

I can't recommend the Breakwater highly enough. Full marks for location (right on the water, stunning views, close to restaurants/bus/ferry), sleep quality (good mattress, linens, room darkness and temperature control), shower (hot and decent pressure), amenities (great kitchen, coffee supplies, dining table, couch and chairs etc), room decor and comfort, and friendly customer service. I was especially impressed by Lyn as she went above and beyond to ensure I was taken care of. I would absolutely stay at the Breakwater again, the next time I'm in the area. Thank you Lyn!

Room tip: Waterfront rooms are well worth it.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank YVR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hi YVR19

Sincere thanks for your comprehensive review and kind comments. We appreciate your recommendation too!

Kind Regards
Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews