We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
209
98
13
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
98
13
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews electric blankets swimming pool nice place to stay the kitchen would definitely stay here again restaurants and shops stayed here for three nights free wifi great advice good size checking out minute walk quiet location serviced daily two night stay an easy walk walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018

The proprietress, Winnie, is wonderful and very accommodating. The facility is quiet and clean. The motel is a very short and easy walk down to the beach. Take advantage of the discounts by booking through the motel.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y6208LDvictoriab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Manager at Averill Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Hi there, we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Take care. Regards, Winnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Stayed in a 1 bedroom room at the rear of the complex for 3 days. Very quiet with parking right outside the door. Room was spacious and clean with kitchenette. Bathroom very small and dated, however the shower had good pressure. Main bed was very hard and uncomfortable, however the one in the living area was much better. Couch needs to be replaced. Motel is 10 minute easy walk into town. Good motel for price point.

Stayed: April 2018
2  Thank jaykay315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Manager at Averill Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi there, we appreciate your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you found our motel was quiet, the room was clean and spacious. We just add topper onto our beds, and we seem to have some positive feedback about this from customers, Sorry if we did not meet up your expectations. Thank you for staying with us. Take care. Regards, Winnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

The accommodation was good and the kitchen facilities meant that we could self cater. other people used the BBQ outside which seemed to work well for them. It was well placed for the Waitingi Treaty House and the lady on reception was very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gapmonthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Manager at Averill Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you had a good stay. We wish you all the best. Take care. Kind Regards, Winnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Here are my reasons why:
--Although I knew the check-in time was 2pm we drove in @ 1.15 and the host told us are room was NOT yet ready
--So we sat in the heat, in our car just to see if they were actually cleaning our room
--Guess what, @ 2.00pm we were taken to the room that was NOT even entered by the 2 staff on duty who were cleaning other rooms and NOT the one allocated to us --Throughout this period the Chinese owner, Winnie was impolite, had a very rude, ARROGANT, unhospitable and very negative attitude in her communication with us
--Being there 4 nights, we did notice other guests checking in PRIOR to 2pm and that proved she was biased and discriminated against us
--During our stay, we had to request for the room to be cleaned and linen to be changed. On the 1 day I forgot, she did NOT change our sheets and replace our towels
--The Sofa cum bed sinks to the floor and the overall cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired and the QUALITY of the liquid soap provided shouts CHEAP, CHEAP, CHEAP!!!!
--Finally, when we checked out yesterday I requested for a receipt for the $640/= we paid for 4 nights and she simply refused to give me either a receipt and when I asked her to put a Rubber stamp on the piece of paper I completed @ Check-in, she said we don't have a Rubber stamp. So she scribbled a 2 liner and walked away. Really something DODGY going on here and...
---I will most certainly be complaining to the respective Government departments and Hospitality associations about my UNACCEPTABLE experience in this TWO STAR motel.

Room Tip: STAY AWAY from this place, please
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arby235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Manager at Averill Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018


Mr Brian D’Silva,
It is a standard procedure in most motels and hotels in New Zealand to have a 2pm check in time. Depending on demand, the room may or may not be ready prior to 2pm.
In your situation, your room was not ready for you to check in at 1pm as you requested on arrival. This is in no way prejudiced.

We supplied a GST receipt but did not have the specific type of rubber stamp you requested. The receipt supplied would be adequate for all tax purposes and needs.
You are welcome to put this to the respective government departments if you think it is necessary.
I am a bit puzzled to see your review in such a way that you felt it was a personal affront and were offended by us not being able to check you in before 2pm Regards, Winnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Friendly & helpful reception. Booked a trip for us while checking in. Clean and comfortable accommodation. No a/c but a fan available.
10 minutes walk to the jetty on the paihia waterfront, within that same distance are places to eat, supermarket and shops of Paihia.
An enjoyable relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TykeTaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, General Manager at Averill Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you Tyke for your kind review. I am glad to know that you had a pleasant stay. All the best, take care. Regards, Winnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews