We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SimonMacB
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Family fun time

Review of Bayview Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Jul 2019
We had a four night stay at the Bayview and we were very pleased with the accommodation. The location was excellent with a short, easy walk to beach, shops, restaurants and the ferry. The room was generally clean and comfortable and had a good layout for our needs and included everything needed for self-catering if wanted. There is also laundry facilities on site. We were also pleased that we were allowed to bring our small dog with us and he found the room comfortable too.

The host and staff were very friendly and helpful.

On the maintenance side there were a couple of light switches that were a bit wobbly that could probably due with being changed soon and we felt that next time the curtains are replaced might be an idea to go for black out versions as street lamps and car headlamps from the road tended to shine into the room. Didn't bother us but might for some (especially with younger children).

Overall we had a very good stay and would certainly consider staying here again on future visits to Paihia.
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review
Responded 15 Jul 2019
Hi Simon,

Thanks for your compliments.I think you were in apartment 1 so the light switches will be located and changed. Hope to see you the next time you visit Paihia.

Graham Walker
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
$261
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$171
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Studio
$158
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $158
0.3 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $149
  • Expedia.com
    $171
0.0 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $71
  • Priceline
    $99
0.2 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $89
  • Expedia.com
    $109
0.1 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $257
  • Priceline
    $318
0.8 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $116
  • Algotels
0.8 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    $96
  • Vio.com
    $93
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Bayview Motel
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $115
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
69
41
22
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
69
41
22
6
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2019

A nice, homely and comfortable place to stay that perhaps needs a littleTLC. We always stay here when we go to Paihia because it is walking distance to town, restaurants etc. Staff are helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank stevonn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2019

Four of us stayed here in spacious ground floor units for 3 nights last week. The rooms are spacious and in a lovely position directly overlooking the bay of islands. Good parking on-site and good advise of where to eat given by reception. Rooms a little dated and would benefit from a spruce up: bed in lounge uncomfortable, one broken light switch in bedroom and only one plug outlet, of two offered, functioning behind double bed and ants active on bedroom dresser. Lovely having access to bathroom from bedroom as well as from lounge/kitchen area so didn't have to disturb anyone seeping in the lounge bed

Room tip: all good I would think
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Berwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2019

Centrally located on the bay the motel is handy for walking into Paihia or the Treaty grounds. Good parking, reasonably priced and with excellent accommodation. Everything was clean and bed and bed linen, towels etc all good quality and towels replaced daily if required. The location was quiet and we had a good sized lounge kitchen. Large bedroom and good sized bathroom with lots of hot water.
Would happily stay here again.

Room tip: Rooms at the side of the motel next to the entrance are the most accessible.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2018

We stayed two nights last week and loved the location, cleanliness and spacious unit. The service was great and very discrete. While it is not a modern motel, these other aspects made up for this. We would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EscapeZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

Booked based on the good reviews but quite a disappointment. Beds uncomfortable . needs a spruce up. Other friends staying in other locations paid a lot less with better accommodation. 3 bedroom apartment advertises a spacious lounge. But it is small and dungeon like.
Great location. Great views from the 1 br apartments.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Drivelking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

The 3 bedroom apartment cost you $50.00 per head ($350.00 for 7 occupants).This is not overpriced by Paihia high season standards. Making your reservation with a declined credit card and then having to remind you as you were leaving to pay your account was not appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews