We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
stevonn8
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Wonderful views

Review of Bayview Motel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Jul 2019
A nice, homely and comfortable place to stay that perhaps needs a littleTLC. We always stay here when we go to Paihia because it is walking distance to town, restaurants etc. Staff are helpful and friendly.
Date of stay: June 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Waterfront Suite
$171
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Hotels.com
    $162
  • Priceline
    $171
0.0 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
$116
  • Expedia.com
    $116
  • Agoda.com
    $103
  • Priceline
    $109
0.1 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Lounge
$99
  • Priceline
    $99
  • Vio.com
    $80
  • Expedia.com
    $104
0.2 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
$261
  • Priceline
    $261
  • Vio.com
    $206
  • Expedia.com
    $235
0.3 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$318
  • Hotels.com
    $312
  • Expedia.com
    $259
  • Priceline
    $318
0.8 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$171
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $171
  • Algotels
    $151
  • Priceline
    $171
0.1 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$129
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $115
  • Vio.com
    $111
  • Priceline
    $129
0.8 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $132
  • Vio.com
    $116
  • Hotels.com
    $132
0.9 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$96
  • Priceline
    $96
  • Agoda.com
    $114
  • Vio.com
    $96
0.9 km from Bayview Motel
Free parking
Pool
$120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $103
  • Expedia.com
    $120
1.0 km from Bayview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
69
41
22
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
69
41
22
6
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2019

Four of us stayed here in spacious ground floor units for 3 nights last week. The rooms are spacious and in a lovely position directly overlooking the bay of islands. Good parking on-site and good advise of where to eat given by reception. Rooms a little dated and would benefit from a spruce up: bed in lounge uncomfortable, one broken light switch in bedroom and only one plug outlet, of two offered, functioning behind double bed and ants active on bedroom dresser. Lovely having access to bathroom from bedroom as well as from lounge/kitchen area so didn't have to disturb anyone seeping in the lounge bed

Room tip: all good I would think
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Berwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2019

Centrally located on the bay the motel is handy for walking into Paihia or the Treaty grounds. Good parking, reasonably priced and with excellent accommodation. Everything was clean and bed and bed linen, towels etc all good quality and towels replaced daily if required. The location was quiet and we had a good sized lounge kitchen. Large bedroom and good sized bathroom with lots of hot water.
Would happily stay here again.

Room tip: Rooms at the side of the motel next to the entrance are the most accessible.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2018

We stayed two nights last week and loved the location, cleanliness and spacious unit. The service was great and very discrete. While it is not a modern motel, these other aspects made up for this. We would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EscapeZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

Booked based on the good reviews but quite a disappointment. Beds uncomfortable . needs a spruce up. Other friends staying in other locations paid a lot less with better accommodation. 3 bedroom apartment advertises a spacious lounge. But it is small and dungeon like.
Great location. Great views from the 1 br apartments.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Drivelking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

The 3 bedroom apartment cost you $50.00 per head ($350.00 for 7 occupants).This is not overpriced by Paihia high season standards. Making your reservation with a declined credit card and then having to remind you as you were leaving to pay your account was not appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2018

We had booked via a phone call with our cr card for 3 nights and unfortunately due to a death in the family we were going to be unable to stay as we had change all our work commitments around and cancel our break so we emailed 10 days prior to our stay to ask to not proceed. We had not heard so we then called him after the funeral and two days before the stay had been organised and he indicated he would take off a booking fee and then charged our credit card the full amount straight away.
1, We called and booked, got sent no terms and conditions or advised of anything...not even a confirmation!
2, We emailed as soon as we knew 10 days prior to our stay (have dated proof of computer sent email at point 10 days prior) and that is not right that he should be able to take the full amount for cancellation when cancelled that far in advance, especially when there is no documentation stating this or agreed terms and conditions being given to your guest at the time or even after booking has been made over the phone.
3, All other booking websites etc have cancellation fees but this place, as far as we are concerned....this should be illegal especially this far out with no evidence or agreed terms and conditions.
4, We have stayed here before and the man insisted not to book through the websites due to the fee it costs him for each reservation so just call him and book via phone....if I had booked via website obviously we would have seen the cancellation terms and thought much more carefully.
5, The man advised us he never received the email 10 days prior, this is totally incorrect AND we have solid evidence of this, the matter is currently in the hands of experts.
6, If you look back through the other reviews this has happened to numerous people in the past and he makes out if he can find a replacement in time he would reimburse, then obviously doesn’t. What’s stopping him from double dipping instead and even if you turned up for proof he could just point at any empty room and say it was yours.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank mplasmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

The first indication we received that the guest wished to cancel their reservation was a telephone call 1 day before their arrival date. No mention was made of a death as the reason. When we indicated that due to the lateness of the cancellation,the full charge would be payable ,the guest recalled that an email had been sent some 2 weeks before to cancel.We requested a copy and were sent an email dated the day of the telephone call. A further copy was sent also dated the day before arrival.Requesting a copy of the email sent 2 weeks prior ,we were sent the same email but now dated 2 weeks prior.
With the confusion in the dates of the emails we confirmed that the full charge was payable unless we were able to relet the reservation.Unfortunately we did not relet.due to the lateness of the cancellation.The accusation of double dipping is treated with the contempt it deserves.
The statement that this has happened to numerous people before is false as can be seen from previous reviews.The offer to refund if relet is made on every late cancellation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews