We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Irene
Redmond, Oregon

Tiny house in the trees close to town.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Dec 2022via mobile
A tiny house experience in the trees. Great location a short walk to everything and very quiet. The owners are absolutely amazing. So accommodating. My husband hurt his foot and Ken drove us to our next days activity. Small kitchen and lovely porch. Updated lodging with a private feeling. Flowers and bird song abound
Date of stay: December 2022
Room Tip: Pack light. The walk up is a bit much if not
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
View from Lounge
$105
  • Priceline
    $105
  • Vio.com
    $80
  • Expedia.com
    $111
0.4 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
$183
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • Agoda.com
    $162
  • Priceline
    $183
0.5 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
$121
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $121
  • ZenHotels.com
    $116
  • Trip.com
    $121
0.4 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heated pool - all year!
$113
  • Priceline
    $111
  • Agoda.com
    $110
  • ZenHotels.com
    $147
0.5 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
$145
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $145
  • travelup.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $145
0.4 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Studio
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $157
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $113
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $155
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $261
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $135
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
77
38
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
38
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location short walk to everything close to town quick walk lovely hosts the kitchen accommodation views ferry russel hole
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2022

Lovely hosts, great location which was a quick walk to Ferry and i site, stunning room with all of the amenities, beautiful surround, good views, fair price, great communication. I had asked to leave my car parked at the place of accomadation after check out for a day trip to The Hole in the Rock, Otehei Bay and Russel via Ferry, as there was a free park, they were happy to oblige and even called to check I was okay as I hasn't arrived back by 9pm at night to pick up my car.
Also I left some things behind and they had no hassle sending them to my home address for me via post.
Will 100% stay again.
Look no further, this is the place or stay!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Kiri-Stephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2022 via mobile

The people who own the accommodation are so lovely and so helpful. The rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable. It was really peaceful, idealic setting. will definitely stay there again. Close to shops and town. It's amazing thank you so much!!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KellyR448
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2021

We stayed in Cabin 8 for 4 nights over NY. Highly recommend this particular unit if you don’t mind a few stairs as it’s the unit right at the top offering a good view and more privacy. The unit is situated beside a native rimu tree and pohutukawa which were full of tui and other native birds - lovely to wake up to.
The motel is really close to town - only a couple of minutes walk to two supermarkets and all the restaurants and shops.
Bathroom is a bit narrow but overall the cabin was sufficient for two people and had everything we needed for the stay. There is a heat pump to keep the unit cool.
Owners were very friendly and welcoming and happy to offer local advice.
We definitely recommend this motel and would stay here again.

Room tip: Cabin 8 if you don’t mind a few stairs as it’s the unit right at the top offering a good view and more privacy.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2020 via mobile

Private and quiet cabins which are nice and clean. Very tranquil, could hear native birds singing. Friendly staff, short walk to town and beach, air con in cabins and ceiling fan. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank j0000o
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2020

What makes Bay Cabinz special?

Super hillside location overlooking the sea and the little town of Paihia, well equipped, spacious yet cosy cabins with plenty of space between them, everything clean and smart. Park your car and leave it as everything's within walking distance including a decent supermarket, shops, restaurants and the must-take passenger ferry to romantic Russell. Another must-see is Waitangi - a slightly longer walk along the shore road. Soak up the area's rich heritage and meet friendly Maori people, it's an all-day destination if you wish.

Ken and Ali are the best hosts and made this solo traveller feel very welcome and almost part of the family. Ali was even kind enough to drive me to Haruru Falls - the start of a fantastic 5km riverbank walk to Waitangi.

Be aware, there is a school in School Road and you'll hear the youngsters arriving and departing. And there are quite a few steps to the higher cabins - although Ken and Ali will help with bags. An accessible cabin is available if you need to be on the flat.

My only regret - why didn't I stay longer? Bay of Islands is a wonderful destination. You could easily stay five nights and not see everything.

Room tip: Best views from upper cabins but remember there are a few steps
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews