We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
H9448DVthomasm
Nanaimo, Canada

Wonderful Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Feb 2020
Ken greeted us and both Ken and Ali were fabulous hosts. The cabin was well appointed and equipped. Our view was spectacular as our deck looked out on the Bay of Islands. We stayed 5 nights and loved the area. Ken gave us great advice on places to see, restaurants, tour companies and even the weather. Everything was clean and and worked well. Ken provided us with beach towels, new condiments everyday, as well as insuring that we had all we needed. I would highly recommend Bay Cabins and took a few cards to give to friends. It is affordable and wonderful.
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Each couple has a cabin with a deck. Ask for a Bay view.
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
View from Lounge
$99
  • Priceline
    $99
  • Vio.com
    $70
  • Expedia.com
    $104
0.4 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$129
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $128
  • Agoda.com
    $116
  • Priceline
    $129
0.3 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$318
  • Expedia.com
    $288
  • Hotels.com
    $312
  • Priceline
    $318
0.5 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $132
  • Trip.com
    $117
  • Hotels.com
    $132
0.5 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$96
  • Priceline
    $96
  • Trip.com
    $145
  • Agoda.com
    $114
0.5 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free parking
Pool
$120
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $99
  • Priceline
    $120
0.5 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $116
  • Agoda.com
    $103
  • Hotels.com
    $129
0.4 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $171
  • Vio.com
    $156
  • Hotels.com
    $162
0.5 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $171
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $171
0.4 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $261
  • Vio.com
    $205
  • Priceline
    $261
0.7 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
77
38
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
38
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location short walk to everything close to town quick walk lovely hosts the kitchen accommodation views ferry russel hole
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2020

We choose this place as a last minute change in our plans caused us to need a motel for a couple of days. Ken and Ali are lovely hosts and made sure we had everything we needed. They even upgraded us to a room with a view when a minor issue with our original room's water (spotted by a cleaner) meant some repairs needed to happen during our stay, when really there was no need to offer us anything.

The motel location is in downtown Paihia, so a short walk to everything the centre of town has to offer. We had a great time, while we were here and would recommend it to anyone thinking of a central Paihia stay.

The rooms are freshly refurbished, and the ones we stayed in had cooking amenities. Both cabins we stayed in were very clean and comfortable.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EastLondonKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2019

This place, found by happenstance, is an absolute gem.

It feels remote, yet walking into town is under 7 minutes. The well-kept chalets are modern, have amazing views and are very clean.
The owners are super nice and i wish i had more time to stay here.

Room tip: The higher lying chalets probably have the better view (I was in #8 - amazing)
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 584gigab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2019 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay.. were in number 1 cabin.. great views.. so sunny..special place to sit and have breakfast.. coffee or wine overlooking scenic Paihia. Well equipped for cooking. made yummy meal one night sat out in winter and took in evening view. Such warm friendly welcome when we arrived. Real plus has off street parking and so close to everything.. great to wander down to water trips.. restaurants etc.
Highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ElsaMiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2019

Lucky to find this place, really nice position and lovely outlook.

Hosts, Ken and Ali were great, gave some recommendations of places to eat, which we took and were pleased we did.

Comfortable room, great view out to the bay. Not the boring chain motel, lovely individuality about this place. Upped our 3 nights to 4 to make to most of the rest.

Would stay again, if we came ever come that way again.

Keep up the good work guys. Thanks Jackie & John

Room tip: Front corner cabin overlooking bay was great.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JJ54Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2019

A great place to stay when visiting the Bay of Islands. We were here for four nights and got quite fit climbing the stairs to our cabin. But once there, the room was very comfortable, the equipment just what we needed and the view superb. We will certainly use this accommodation again when next in the area.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wildfowler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews