We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Giga B
Montreal, Canada

An Absolute Gem

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Dec 2019
This place, found by happenstance, is an absolute gem.

It feels remote, yet walking into town is under 7 minutes. The well-kept chalets are modern, have amazing views and are very clean.
The owners are super nice and i wish i had more time to stay here.
Date of stay: December 2019
Room Tip: The higher lying chalets probably have the better view (I was in #8 - amazing)
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
View from Lounge
$99
  • Priceline
    $99
  • Vio.com
    $71
  • Expedia.com
    $104
0.4 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
$98
  • Expedia.com
    $109
  • Agoda.com
    $84
  • Priceline
    $92
0.4 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
$176
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $171
  • Agoda.com
    $147
  • Priceline
    $176
0.5 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$129
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $123
  • Agoda.com
    $110
  • Expedia.com
    $128
0.3 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$318
  • Priceline
    $318
  • Expedia.com
    $257
  • Hotels.com
    $283
0.5 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Studio
$158
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $158
  • Hotels.com
    $158
  • Expedia.com
    $158
0.2 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$171
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $171
  • travelup.com
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $171
0.4 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
$261
  • Priceline
    $261
  • Vio.com
    $207
  • Expedia.com
    $261
0.7 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$96
  • Priceline
    $96
  • Agoda.com
    $88
  • Trip.com
    $146
0.5 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free parking
Pool
$120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $118
  • Agoda.com
    $95
  • Expedia.com
    $120
0.5 km from Bay Cabinz Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
77
38
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
38
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location short walk to everything close to town quick walk lovely hosts the kitchen accommodation views ferry russel hole
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2019 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay.. were in number 1 cabin.. great views.. so sunny..special place to sit and have breakfast.. coffee or wine overlooking scenic Paihia. Well equipped for cooking. made yummy meal one night sat out in winter and took in evening view. Such warm friendly welcome when we arrived. Real plus has off street parking and so close to everything.. great to wander down to water trips.. restaurants etc.
Highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ElsaMiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2019

Lucky to find this place, really nice position and lovely outlook.

Hosts, Ken and Ali were great, gave some recommendations of places to eat, which we took and were pleased we did.

Comfortable room, great view out to the bay. Not the boring chain motel, lovely individuality about this place. Upped our 3 nights to 4 to make to most of the rest.

Would stay again, if we came ever come that way again.

Keep up the good work guys. Thanks Jackie & John

Room tip: Front corner cabin overlooking bay was great.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JJ54Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2019

A great place to stay when visiting the Bay of Islands. We were here for four nights and got quite fit climbing the stairs to our cabin. But once there, the room was very comfortable, the equipment just what we needed and the view superb. We will certainly use this accommodation again when next in the area.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wildfowler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2019

This was a truly lovely place. Well equipped, comfortable cabins set in beautiful grounds with a terrace overlooking the bay. The property is just a few minutes walk uphill from all of the facilities in Paihia. There were so many things to do and places to visit from here without needing a car, so it was refreshing to be able to leave it parked here for a few days. Ken and Ali were very friendly and helpful hosts, so overall, Bay Cabinz is highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2019

I have stayed here on several occasions over the 18 years or so since it was built. Bay Cabins has always been kept to a high standard and the new owners are complimenting that with friendly helpful service and further upgrades to the cabins with air conditioning.

So easy to walk into Paihia just a few metres down the road through the car park and you at the shops. Great for dining out at night, no need to take the car! Leave the car there when you do your boat trips from Paihia, saves parking costs as well.

Ken and Ali are very welcoming and doing a great job running the motel/cabins.

Room tip: Cabins at the back have great views
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 264rickr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews