We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
60
35
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
35
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews individual cabins great location sea view stayed for nights across the road single bed great place to stay lovely spot laundry facilities separate bedroom self contained lovely view easy walk minute walk would definitely stay here again new zealand hillside
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Loved Paihia and liked this motel a lot. The property is a little dated, but had everything we needed and the hosts were super friendly and helpful. We were in cabin 10, which was up high (we didn’t have a problem with the steps) with a restricted sea view but no passing foot traffic, so nice and quiet, except on Friday night when the servicemen’s club across the road had live music till about 11.00. Loved the deck - great spot for a pre-dinner drink. A tip for others: when you’re using the bathroom at night make sure your blind is down - we had a free show with our drinks!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ouzo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights & could not have been happier! The location is a short walk from the centre of Paihia.There are restaurants & supermarkets only a 5 minute walk away. The owners are lovely & gave us plenty of tips about what to see & where to eat. We had a lovely private room at the top of the property & had no problems with the stairs. This is not a 5 Star resort, but neither is the price! The rooms are comfortable,clean & well equiped. We had a nice sitting area out the front with great view out to the bay!
The only small criticism I can make is the very small TV, but it was right next to the bed so easy to watch from there.
We are glad we chose Bay Cabinz & highly recommend it if you are visiting the beautiful Bay of Islands!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GippyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We could not have been more pleased with our stay. The room was clean and well-equipped. The beds were comfortable. Nicest hot shower Ive had in awhile. The hosts have cute, friendly dogs too. We cooked our breakfast and lunches in the room and dined on the porch with lovely harbour views. This place would suit couples, friends, solo traveler or small families: separate bedroom for the kids. Easy walking distance to the CBD and all tracks. This would be my pick for accommodation when Im back in the Bay of Islands.

Room Tip: Room #6 was just what we needed. All rooms are quiet, private, and great views.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madamegadfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

The hosts of Bay Cabinz are very friendly and helpful. The room was ok, very warm in February with no A/C. The sea view cabin is about 3 flight of stairs. The cabin has all necessary supplies to prepare a meal in your room. The atmosphere is similar to camping with a cabin stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenandAli, Owner at Bay Cabinz Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to give feedback. I just wanted to clarify we have 6 Sea View Cabins and they are located on three different levels (lower-middle; middle and top) so a walk to the top is not a must for a Sea View. Many thanks, Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

We loved Bay Cabinz. Although there are quite a few steps up its well worth the lovely view.The cabins are clean, warm and well equipped. We were able to walk into town and the owners gave great suggestions where to eat and have coffee.We would definitely stay here again.Parking was no problems.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews