We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
hausi48
Bassersdorf, Switzerland

THE Bay of Islands Place to Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 May 2023
When visiting the extraordinary Bay of Islands, this is the place to stay. Quiet, elevated location in a residential neighbourhood. Very nice welcome from the Austrian/Swiss owner couple who run a spotless B&B. Lovely room with wonderful artistic detailing. Comfortable bed and practical bathroom with walk-in shower. Had the weather been more on our side, we could also have enjoyed the very inviting balcony and lovely view a bit more. A delicious breakfast hamper is provided on the first day. Easy 5 minute walk to the bus station and ferry dock. Our host Inge suggested we have dinner at the Duke of Marlborough on the other side of the bay and made the reservation for us. Delightful 15 minute evening ferry ride to a good meal waiting on the other side. Not to be missed. In the end, we were sorry we hadn't planned to stay longer at the Chalet Romantica.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Guest Room Private Hot Tub
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $636
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Chalet Romantica
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $129
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Chalet Romantica
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $122
  • Priceline
    $140
0.1 km from Chalet Romantica
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Chalet Romantica
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heated pool - all year!
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $99
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Chalet Romantica
Free parking
Pool
View from Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $159
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Chalet Romantica
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $119
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Chalet Romantica
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $280
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Chalet Romantica
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $138
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Chalet Romantica
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $229
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Chalet Romantica
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
724
18
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
724
18
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely room perfect hosts comfortable bed hot tub amazing views suite balcony nz bay accommodation duke
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2023

Amazing views, fabulous welcome, breakfast hamper to die for.
Beds very comfortable and large, felt like home from home. Such a well equipped suite, even had hair straighteners.
We would highly recommend. Even had hot tub and swim against current pool.

Room tip: Romantica Suite we had fabulous views
Date of stay: January 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Porchia44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Inge Amsler, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2023

Dear Porchia44,
Thank you so much for your amazing comments. It was a pleasure having you staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2023 via mobile

Every cloud has a silver lining and Chalet Romantica was definitely ours. We had been let down by a much anticipated stay at one of Paihia’s premier hotels (which was anything but) so we were incredibly lucky that the beautiful Retreat room was available at very short notice. The room is on the ground floor and has a lovely terrace with views over the hills and a private parking space. Inge is the most delightful host, she made us very welcome and we felt so blessed that we could enjoy her hospitality and home for 3 nights. She provides a breakfast tower on the first night which lasted us for 2 breakfasts and several snacks. Everything about Chalet Romantica is very carefully thought through from the gorgeous organic toiletries to the homemade biscuits, thank you Inge, if we ever come back to NZ I can’t think of a nicer place to stay.

Room tip: The walk back up the hill is quite steep but don’t let that put you off, it’s worth the climb.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BHSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Inge Amsler, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2023

Dear BHSheffield, What a amazing review you left us on this portal. Thank you SO much for all your comments.
It was an absolute pleasure having you both staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2022 via mobile

The hospitality and attention to all details at Chalet Romantica is truly the gold standard. We were so spoiled that our next (nice) place fell far short. Thank you Inge, you are the BEST. Du bist Super!

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 627barbaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Inge Amsler, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2023

Dear 627barbaran,
Thank you so much for your amazing comments. Its guests like you who make it a pleasure to run a business like ours :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2022 via mobile

This is a beautiful place for a holiday. Great views from the rooms looking out across the bay. The rooms are excellent. Plenty of space in each room. We were met with a friendly smile from Inge (host). Breakfast was great. Very romantic. Certainly recommend this place. We are hoping to go back in 2024.

Room tip: Plenty to do & see in the bay. Excellent restaurants with a wide range of choice.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Valeriee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Inge Amsler, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2022

Dear Valeriee2016,
Thank you very much for your amazing review. It was such a pleasure meeting you both.
Wishing you both the very best.
Your host, Inge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2022 via mobile

Have just spent 4 nights staying at this wonderful accommodation which is perfectly located in Paihia and the views from the rooms are just wow. We were warmly welcomed by Inge who couldn't have been more helpful from the beginning to the end of our stay. We stayed in the Romantica Suite at the very top of the house and the climb up all the stairs was certainly worth it. Lovely breakfast provisions and the best room to shelter from the rain on our last day. Would recommend without hesitation and would love to return someday even though its a long way from home

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jrpc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Inge Amsler, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2022

Dear jrpc35,
How amazing it has been reading your comments. Thank you so much for taking the time to write on this portal.
We look forward to hopefully see you all again in the not-too-distant future.
Your host, Inge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews