We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
65
47
25
26
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
47
25
26
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews haruru falls waterfall view lick of paint beautiful spot campsite bay unit roomy
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

Decided on a quick weekend getaway, and we were looking for somewhere to stay by the falls, so of course Haruru Falls Resort was our first choice. Drove up to the reception while having a look at the property, only to find a very angry looking receptionist waving her arms at us as we were trying to turn around, and advised us the road was one way - without even asking us if we were looking for a room. Clearly she didn't want anyone staying at the "resort", so we took our money else where. I would NOT recommend this "resort" to anyone as the only thing we took away was the memory of a angry & rude receptionist.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank hiddenreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful park on a site directly at the waterfront - beautiful!! We really loved this place. Amenities are spotless clean and the campsite kitchen is well equipped. There is a nice bar, where we had a drink in the evening and talked with Jan Gerritsen, the very hospitable host oft the park. We really enjoyed our stay and can highly recommend it. We would definitely stay again.
Thanks to Jan, also for booking the amazing boat trip for us!!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brenkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

We stayed here about 10 years ago and it was great. It has since gone downhill badly however, and we were most disappointed!

The site itself looks nice, and was great for our little camper van. However, the pool loungers are truly disgusting, the playground is falling apart, and the kitchen was in such a filthy state that even my 10-year old son wouldn't use it! There was a rusting urn, dirt and dust everywhere, and the provided dish brushes were black with dirt!

Great place to stay if you don't want to use any facilities (toilets were ok, but dirty), but if you want to use the kitchen, BBQ or pool area, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you need to use the kitchen.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Stayed here about a week ago. Lovely location. Wonderful view of falls and nice place to watch the sunset from. Had a nice swim in the pool. Receptionist wasn't the friendliest or forthcoming with information or being helpful. Sunloungers by pool could definitely do with replacing. Would still stay here again though.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marshallfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

When we checked in here we very soon became very disappointed with what we found, If it was not late in the afternoon and if I had not prepaid for our stay here, I would have looked for accommodation elsewhere. I was of the view that if we moved on that there would be little or no chance of getting our money back,
Reluctant to do so, we decided to try to endure this dreadful place.

The furnishings are worn and decrepit. They should have been replaced years ago. This establishment is dirty and scruffy. There were bare wires hanging out from a lampshade and the bulb needed replacement. The Mirror in the bathroom was corroded around the edges and grimy. Carpets were dirty and in desperate need of a good clean.

The complimentary WiFi was pretty useless. It lasted about 20 minutes which is hardly sufficient to catch up with e mails and news from home.

The Receptionist was abrupt, most unfriendly and rude,

The sun lounges around the pool were just disgusting and where fit only to be thrown in the bin. There was a "Do Not Use" sign on a broken swing.

There were three old deformed wire coat hangers in the bedroom for clothing hanging on a nail

This entire establishment should be demolished and rebuilt. I could see nothing of virtue about this Motel except that it is located in what otherwise would be an idyllic location.

The motel had the feel of a 1950's Holiday Camp which has fallen on bad times.

Don't be fooled by the website which shows a smart apartment because as far as I can tell is "left empty for show"

So bad was this place that I feel compelled to make a complaint to the New Zealand Tourist Board concerning the allocation and use of a 4 Star Motel grading for this place.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Jennifer259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews