We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$144
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edelweiss Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Palms Apartments(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
30
70
49
26
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
70
49
26
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Very basic room but lovely bedding and super shower. Don't bother with the breakfast. It's very basic. Pop into town, an easy walk and there's a super breakfast bar there. The room has no enteral heating but does have a fan heater which worked well. It was winter when we were there to be fair.

Room Tip: Wifi is limited and then you pay.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gill300361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Good rooms, basic but functional. Ample parking. Staff could have been more helpful. But over all value for money. Its a Budget Hotel, nothing fancy. Close to the main town with shopping & restaurants with in walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

As many others have said, the Tanoa is pretty much a budget hotel but, that said, it is absolutely fine. The outstanding feature was definitely the staff service. We arrived late on Saturday night for a one-night stay and there was a muck-up with our booking (our fault) and this was quickly and efficiently sorted out by phone with the manager. She was just as helpful the following morning.

Our room was large but, with three beds in it, there wasn't much room to move about. That said, it would be very cheap for a family. Although the room is tired with some peeling paper etc, it was very clean. The bathroom is incredibly spacious and there are basic toiletries available.

We had the option with the buffet breakfast included and this was more than ample.

Don't come looking for luxury but do expect a good value stay with excellent service.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Stayed here for two nights.Receptionist Kelly was very lovely,warm and welcoming as were all Staff we encountered.Really enjoyed the Breakfasts in the Mornings.Room was Nice,cosy and very clean, Loads of carparks.Very peaceful area and great location, just around the corner from township.Thanks for a Great stay & keep up the great work..Hope to visit again soon !!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

The hotel is easy to locate and has ample amount of parking. Convenience store is at a 5 minutes walking distance as well as the city centre. Also the beach is at a similar distance. Plus point for the cleanliness and negative for not providing a microwave. It is very clean and the bed is comfortable too. Bath and toilet area was fine. We didn't see anybody using the pool and the sauna was always occupied. I wish people start considering the fact that there are other guests too and give them a chance to use the facility. The staff is helpful with the very minimum interaction we had. Though the Wi-Fi isn't free, we were lucky to get one close to the reception area. Hope that still works :) We had pleasant stay !!

Room Tip: We had the room at the back on the first floor. It was quite and peaceful.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mumbaikar_Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews