We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterside Lunch”
Review of The Blue Door

The Blue Door
Reserve a table
Ranked #31 of 51 Restaurants in Paihia
Restaurant details
Reviewed 24 February 2024

Locate at the end of Marsden Road away from the main centre of town. Right on the shore line with seating inside and under the patio overlooking the water. The service was spot on with helpfulness and friendliness. The menu had a good selection of smaller plates, burgers etc. A comprehensive drink list as well. They were able to adapt to suit gluten free needs of a coeliac with ease. Reasonably priced as well.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CraigH0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2024

We chanced upon this restaurant for coffee and were so impressed with the lovely service that we returned both for an evening meal and breakfast the next day.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Burfordson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2024 via mobile

Don’t know where the description came from “Indian/European” . The type of meals done here ranged from burgers, fish and chips, lamb shanks, pork belly, fish pasta, salads really nice, home cooked meals with a slight twist. We ate her on 2 nights of our stay in Paihia. The service was friendly and professional, the food was really good quality, fresh and tasty. Nicely done outdoor seating with a view, also indoor seating. Would book if planning to go but could usually get in if not. Would definitely recommend, small menu but something for everyone.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2024

Not a great experience unfortunately, burgers and chips are over priced for what they are, not good value there. My fish was over cooked and the fennel salad was swimming in an unpleasant oil. Cocktails were good. The place was empty when we were there, no one checked to see if our meals were ok, no offered us dessert, so we left. Not the service we are used to in Paihia, and certainly the food was not like their advertising.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kellykerikeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2024

Really underwhelming, we left so disappointed. Family of 4 $150, son came home and ate cereal and toast as he was still hungry after his $30 short rib burger and 16 fries (he counted them)

Two vegan burgers which also had barely a handful of fries, for the price we really expected more, the burgers were average.

I had the line caught fish for $42 and was offered Tarakihi which I gladly accepted as the line caught fish was Salmon… The pea purée was cold, the fish was very over cooked, the fennel salad was heavy in oil, the two scallops were nice.

Overall, a lovely spot, friendly wait/bar staff, but over priced lacklustre food.

Date of visit: February 2024
1  Thank Explorer45125922496
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Blue Door also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to The Blue Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.