We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
189
254
98
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
254
98
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room great location separate toilet two double beds per day buffet breakfast outdoor pool small fridge reception staff would stay again first floor good size water front air con ferry terminal across the road two nights
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We booked a night at this Hotel via bookings.com and decided to stay here as it was within walking distance to all the places we were planning on visiting. Our room was tidy and spacious and the staff were friendly and helpful. No complaints here!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Preston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Value for money: (4.5/5)

Suitable for:
For all type of stays with family and friends. They have enough parking space if you are travelling by self-drive mode.

Locality and Connectivity(5/5):
Very well placed. Quite near to the intercity coach lines boarding points. The hotel gives an awesome view of the lake and islands in the front. The view looks amazing.

Maintenance and Service:(5/5)
Well maintained rooms and facilities. Service is amazing as well. Staffs are cool and accommodating.

Availability of Amenities(5/5):
They have all required amenities in place including "complementary wifi" in all rooms. All the amenities are in perfect working condition. Rooms are spacious enough.

Restaurant and Food(4/5):
I utilized restaurant for my complementary breakfast. The breakfast had fair spread and good. However can have more options for vegetarians as the hash browns also seem to contain eggs. However due to the location of the hotel you can walk to any restaurants near by. Greens is one of the best that is placed in 30 foots away.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Srinath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Very good food, but very poor service. Food took a very long time to come out, and was a very quiet night, only 5 tables occupied. And we had to go up to the bar to ask for more drinks, no one came to ask if we wanted another one. Considering the restaurant was was all but empty, you would think waitress would have time to do the rounds to check on everyone’s drinks. And when we wanted more drinks and tried to make eye contact, she was behind the counter, distracted looking at the computer screen.... such a shame as this restaurant was highly recommended to us. We won’t be back.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

hotel staff was really friendly, room was nice & tidy with all the necessities we needed! We had dinner at the restaurant located at the hotel & the service was amazing, we had the eye fillet & it was delicious! Would highly recommend & i’ll definetly come back again

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank HeavenleeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Off for our weekend away - arrive Friday afternoon and leave Sunday. Room was a standard double. However seemed to be set up for wheelchair/ invalid guests. Open shower with seating - which flooded entire bathroom making it slippery & unsafe. Decided to make do and headed for bar / restaurant. After deciding to eat in went through to restaurant area. Found Barman was also waitress (He did a great job) and very busy with table of 15. Half of the menu not available - no oysters no burgers etc.
Oh well we thought - then came Saturday Night and when we hit the bar we found a 21st Birthday about to start - quickly decided to eat elsewhere. We returned to our room only to be kept awake until 3.30am with a party in the carpark. It seems the no smoking rules has driven everyone outside and our room is smack in the middle of the party. Bad Management if nothing else - we should have been warned or given a room elsewhere in the complex. NO EXCUSES HERE. Won't be returning. Paihia seems to struggle over Winter - the service was disappointing in a few places. Seems the B team operate over these months.

Room Tip: Suite with views - all others noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew708, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback Joanne. I am disappointed to hear about the experience you had during your stay with us over the weekend. I will follow this up with the team. Thank you for your feedback regarding the service given to you from our team member on Friday night we will ensure to acknowledge him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews