We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Recently, spent one pleasant night stay at the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia. The room was clean, had a large balcony, and all the amenities that I required. The hotel did not have an elevator, so it could be awkward if you had a lot of luggage and are on the second floor. I found the stairways to be very narrow. I had a very good sleep as the bed was very comfortable. The lounge and restaurant is very nice and has a beautiful view of the waterfront. Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Second Floors have balconies and more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night. Rooms were above average, well equipped and comfortable. A clever feature I have not seen before was a long desk top/shelf opposite the bed which ran most of the length of the room. A good part of this was covered in carpet and was designed for putting suitcases on. Worked really well. Staff were friendly enough. Good location a short walk to the centre or for us the ferry to Russell.
A massive negative for me was the wi fi. You only got 30 minutes free after which you had to pay. Why? Surely any hotel these days should have free wi fi? We had 2 iPhones and an iPad where we needed wi fi access for emails, WhatsApp’s and checking things on the internet. I am not talking about streaming films or anything like that. If the management are reading this please do something about it. I have reduced the rating from Very good to average for this reason.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Aneesh on the front desk was arrogant and unhelpful. I was checking in and he said "do you know where your room is?" I said 'well no, but hopefully once you've told me I will". He gave me a map, and literally the room was upstairs and right behind reception. We booked a slot for the hot tub (which was more the temp of a tepid bath). We asked for towels and he pointed to a shelf right beside him at the front desk and said we had to come around and grab them ourselves. The spa jets were on a set timer for 20min (according to sign) but they went off after 15. When we walked to our room it was about 6pm and there was a room service tray with pizza and wedges left over. We walked past it numerous times that evening and in the morning when we were leaving... yep. It was still there. Gross. Won't be back.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank skiwichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

The management was friendly and very helpful
Nice pool and gardens
Our room was clean and well kept
Beds and linen very comfortable
Internet fast
Stayed three nights ...close to restaurants and free parking
Recommend

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

This hotel is having very nice location just near to Bay. They do not provide rooms on ground floor to elderly people, even though you request. NO FREE WIFI.. It is just 50 mb in lobby, which you will finish in 10 minutes. Very near to Town centre and all restaurants and bar. Room size OK. Ample parking space.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are better. Easy to shift your baggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FAVOURITETOURS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.9 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.8 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.1 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
668 reviews
2.7 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: $123 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing