We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Nearby Hotels
US$138
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$141
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$118
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edelweiss Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
US$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
183
247
94
26
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
247
94
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomgreat locationseparate toiletper daytwo double bedsbuffet breakfastoutdoor poolsmall fridgewould stay againreception stafffirst floorgood sizewater frontair conferry terminalfree wifitwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 560 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We stayed in Paihia in between the tests in Wellington and Auckland. The hotel was very central but felt like a youth hostel in many ways! We only ate there on the first night after a late arrival and didn't enjoy the restaurant atmosphere, food choices or service. The rooms were clean but very basic and on the first floor of block which meant lugging a heavy case up 2 flights of stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TylerV-T, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Hi Barry, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate all forms of feedback and am disappointed to learn that we didn't meet your expectations. We are constantly working on fine tuning our food & beverage offering and will use this feedback to further develop the team. For future knowledge, we do have a block that has an elevator so please request this wing if you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Fantastic, clean modern hotel with friendly staff. Checked in after a drama with another local hotel, this was an absolute pleasure, the girls at reception were great so friendly.
Standard of the rooms and the cleanliness was 10/10, great facilities and in a great location easy access to town and ferries etc.
Would highly recommend and when I am back ip North know where I will be staying.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TylerV-T, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hi Keith,
Thank you for such a positive review, I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure I pass the feedback onto our team here at the Kingsgate Hotel. See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Great location as walking distance to town, shops, testaurants. Friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms with everything you need. Key and booking was needed for spa which was a little disappointing, breakfast average to good, but definately great value for money.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Brigitte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TylerV-T, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Gidday Brigitte,

Thank you for your feedback, I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Will take note on that comment on the buffet and see if we can improve this the next time your in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Kitchen doesn't seem to be very organised.
Meals took a very long time to come out even though it didn't seem to be very busy at the time of this particular visit.

After an hour I opted for a refund and went down to 'Sauce' for the best pizza around and super friendly staff!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ryann54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TylerV-T, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

We appreciate your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that we were unable to meet your expectations. It is most disappointing to learn of your experience and I have already discussed this with the staff concerned to ensure this does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

The hotel was clean the welcome great. Friday night dinner was good. Saturday night dinner was acceptable but a 20 minute wait to place our order when we were 2nd into the dining room seemed wrong. Then it was another full hour before our meal arrived. Apparently 30 people had preordered before us but only 12 of those meals came out before ours. The couple who were in the dining room before us walked out before eating. The disturbing thing was when the length of time was mentioned to the Manager his answer was "It is what it is. We have 60 meals tonight." The lamb shanks were cooked nicely but the kumera mash was potato and appeared to be the instant variety. I doubt that we would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TylerV-T, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Hi Jillums,

Thank you very much for your feedback and am sorry for your disappointing experience here. I appreciate that during potentially busy times of service that there can be delays in food service however to learn of your experience and the explanation given is disappointing. I will discuss this with all team members concerned to ensure that this does not happen again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews