We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,005)
Filter reviews
1,005 results
Traveller rating
753
200
34
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
753
200
34
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand short drive amazing views watching the sunrise great hosts places to visit quiet location three nights a great place to stay overlooking the bay cape reinga stayed longer boat trip norm deck unit motel
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 1,005 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

These great social,caring and responsible hosts have created a magical place to stay from a series of units to suit all families, couples and business people. All rooms have an aspect of an amazing view from the north overlooking Waitangi, Paihia, Russell and the bay. Sunrise and sunset can be seen. Great price and understated simple rooms that work. BBQ and pool also grab a eyeful of the view. Rare motel that offers so much for a very good rate. Thanks we'll be back. Mnk

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

We paid a return visit to Cook's Lookout for another short break. Norman and Shelagh were the best of hosts once again. The rooms of our appartment were spotless, the beds comfortable and the views still to die for.
We used the swimming pool. The solar heating had raised the temperature to 30 degrees - wonderful!
They win the trip advisor awards for each year and we know why. Don't look anywhere else!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 2013JEDI55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Let me start by saying that this is our second visit to this amazing place run by the incredible Shelagh & Norm. We visited two years ago when we were last in NZ.
The accommodation was perfect for our needs as was the welcome and incredibly refreshing swimming pool!
As last time we visited we had the chance to hear the world renowned Norman Castle sing and play guitar. Norman & Shelagh were on the top music circuit for many, many years! Even now Norm has an incredibly loyal and international following.
We were sorry to leave but will try and make a point of returning. Many of their guests do, you know!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Sudarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

The owners/operators are aboustley amazing. They are friendly, caring and make sure that you're comfortable at all times. The entire place is clean with amazing views that photos do not do it justice. We stayed 3 nights and honestly were reluctant to leave it was that enjoyable. The atmosphere is great for all ages and is by far one of the best motels I've been to whilst travelling NZ. If you're looking at staying somewhere then honestly look no further because this place will not let you down.

A huge thank you so the owners/operators. We will definitely be back :)

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Thanks so much to the lovely couple that runs Cook's Lookout Motel. It is without a doubt the best accommodation we have come across in New Zealand. From the moment we walked through the reception doors we felt the warm welcome and hospitality.

Everything was just perfect, clean rooms, fresh towels everyday, solar heated pools and a trampoline and bbq area positioned with perfect views just to name a few! They even had friendly cats to make you feel at home.

I can't thank you enough for making our holiday so memorable and I'll definitely travel back from overseas just to stay at Cook's Lookout Motel!

Cheers

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Meritt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews