We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2016

I stayed here with my husband and two friends back in October 2015.
It was beautiful, peaceful, AMAZING views, lovely and light, great dome on the showers, lovely little deck at the back. Owners were friendly and welcoming and gave us milk as we had arrived too late to get to the shops. The cabin was fab. Great value for money.
Will be back even tho I live in Ireland. Want to stay longer next time. Totally in love with Pihia and now Cook's lookout.

Room Tip: Amazing place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

Norm and Shelah will bend over backwards to help. We arrived in filthy weather having spent four days on a sailboat in desperate need of dry anything. Our hosts were magnificent!

We run a business and need reliable wifi. The antiquated coupon system, when it worked at all, dropped us off wifi frequently. For us, this was a major drawback.

There are the two poles. If reliable wifi doesn't matter to you, the kindness of your hosts and magnificent views make this a great place to stay.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank notsurewherehomeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookslookout, Owner at Cook's Lookout Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

The guests arrived during the most atrocious, unseasonable weather we have seen in North Island New Zealand in the 13 years we have operated Cook's Lookout Motel. All of our Internet and Phone services from our Server in Auckland had been wiped out for the whole day only to be gradually restored to full capacity over the next few days. We are not responsible for such a unique event.
We do not get a Free Internet Service from our providers. We pay good money for the best WiFi service we can get here in New Zealand which we give to our guests at no cost to them.
You can be assured that under normal circumstances our "Free" Wifi access is as good as you can get here in Northland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Excellent location, very friendly hosts, very clean and comfortable stay. Nice harbour view from both living room and bedroom. Even have a lot of good DVDs to watch. Very happy holiday with my family and a little dog :)

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Q4460ZXpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We had 2 wonderful nights travelling with my parents and had rooms 1 and 3 which were next door to each other and really enjoyed the outdoor area.it is a bit out of town but there is a great takeaway , Haruru Takeaway, just down the hill a few minutes away! Norm was a great host!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1 for a 2 bedroom suite and Room 3 for a studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in December and loved our stay! The view over the lagoon was so beautiful from our patio that we raced back to see the sunset every evening! Norm and Sheelagh could not have been nicer - fun-loving Liverpudlians with a great sense of humour! The bedroom suite had everything you needed and had a big comfy bed with an assortment of pillows to choose from. The property also has laundry facilities which were really handy. Norm arranged for us to go on a boat trip to "the hole in the rock" which was a fantastic half-day trip. The shuttle bus picks you up and drops you off at the property so no need to bring your car. We loved this part of New Zealand and would highly recommend basing yourself in Cook's Lookout.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OrlaCait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.3 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
3.4 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
485 reviews
2.7 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
3.3 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
3.3 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $167 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing