We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveller rating
749
199
34
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
199
34
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand short drive amazing views haruru falls watching the sunrise great hosts places to visit quiet location three nights a great place to stay overlooking the bay guest laundry cape reinga stayed longer boat trip the waitangi treaty grounds norm
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

Norm and Shelah will bend over backwards to help. We arrived in filthy weather having spent four days on a sailboat in desperate need of dry anything. Our hosts were magnificent!

We run a business and need reliable wifi. The antiquated coupon system, when it worked at all, dropped us off wifi frequently. For us, this was a major drawback.

There are the two poles. If reliable wifi doesn't matter to you, the kindness of your hosts and magnificent views make this a great place to stay.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank notsurewherehomeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookslookout, Owner at Cook's Lookout Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

The guests arrived during the most atrocious, unseasonable weather we have seen in North Island New Zealand in the 13 years we have operated Cook's Lookout Motel. All of our Internet and Phone services from our Server in Auckland had been wiped out for the whole day only to be gradually restored to full capacity over the next few days. We are not responsible for such a unique event.
We do not get a Free Internet Service from our providers. We pay good money for the best WiFi service we can get here in New Zealand which we give to our guests at no cost to them.
You can be assured that under normal circumstances our "Free" Wifi access is as good as you can get here in Northland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Excellent location, very friendly hosts, very clean and comfortable stay. Nice harbour view from both living room and bedroom. Even have a lot of good DVDs to watch. Very happy holiday with my family and a little dog :)

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Q4460ZXpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We had 2 wonderful nights travelling with my parents and had rooms 1 and 3 which were next door to each other and really enjoyed the outdoor area.it is a bit out of town but there is a great takeaway , Haruru Takeaway, just down the hill a few minutes away! Norm was a great host!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1 for a 2 bedroom suite and Room 3 for a studio
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in December and loved our stay! The view over the lagoon was so beautiful from our patio that we raced back to see the sunset every evening! Norm and Sheelagh could not have been nicer - fun-loving Liverpudlians with a great sense of humour! The bedroom suite had everything you needed and had a big comfy bed with an assortment of pillows to choose from. The property also has laundry facilities which were really handy. Norm arranged for us to go on a boat trip to "the hole in the rock" which was a fantastic half-day trip. The shuttle bus picks you up and drops you off at the property so no need to bring your car. We loved this part of New Zealand and would highly recommend basing yourself in Cook's Lookout.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OrlaCait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

My girlfriend and I stayed at Cook's Lookout Motel for eights night during December 2015. Our accommodation was tidy and clean and offered all the amenities we needed. The view is absolutely breath-taking! During our stay, we could see the full moon rise over Russel and the bay, leading to sparkling the reflections in the water. The hosts, Norm and Shelagh, were really friendly and helpful all the time. They gave us good tips about where to eat and go and even told us about the full moon and the corresponding views - we would have missed it otherwise.
I can recommend everyone to contact them per email or phone prior to booking, as they can help you to find the room that best suits your needs. Additionally, if you book directly through them, they can offer you better prices.
To put it in a nutshell, we had a wonderful stay at Cook's Lookout Motel and would love to go there again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter_Selina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews