We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainbow Warrior”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paihia Dive

Paihia Dive
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Paihia Dive in the Bay of Islands is the Far North of New Zealand's premier dive centre and it is our great pleasure to show you all the underwater wonders of this beautiful part of NZ. We offer trips to the spectacular Rainbow Warrior - the jewel of the north aboard our fully equipped dive RIB 'Aka Maru', which takes only 7 minutes from the shore to reach the dive site.Dive The HMNZS Canterbury, New Zealand’s last Frigate to be purpose sunk for diving. Sunk almost 5 years ago, she is covered in jewel anemones and sponges. This wreck is massive and well worth diving!Dive the Bay of Islands with the longest running dive charter operation. Paihia Dive has been taking divers under since 1978, and Craig has been diving in the Bay for 25 years. For a true local experience join Paihia Dive for a day diving. Learn to dive with the best! Paihia Dive is a PADI 5 Star Resort. All our dive courses are taught by experienced instructors, and the classes are nice and small. Start your Open Water Course today!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Christchurch
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rainbow Warrior”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a wonderful day out diving with Craig and Stu diving the Rainbow warrior. We went in their RIB which was located about 40 minutes drive North of Paihia. They will transport you in their van and can hire all the gear if required. The boat takes you out from a local campsite - so there are toilets and showers available when you get back. They cater for small groups of divers which I prefer much more than larger groups. The boat ride is only about 6 minutes to the wreck site. We saw heaps of fish and had a good look around. The Rainbow Warrior lies in 18-24m of water.
Lunch is on a nearby island and there is a private spot for girls who need to pee!
I recommend their lunch box which is another $10 per person - great sandwiches, fruit, slice and chocolate.
The afternoon dive was with the seals who unfortunately didn't want to play. A nice shallow dive with lots of fish and things to look at.
I would highly recommend Paihia Dive. Great operators, friendly, and I felt very safe and well looked after.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VikiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    29
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rainbow Warrior & Cavalli Islands”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Great experience! Craig and crew extremely friendly and always willingly to make the most and the best! Many many thanks! The dives were great!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sashi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Without a doubt some of the best diving I've ever done, with some of the friendliest and most attentive professionals I've ever met. Craig and his team run a fantastic shop, and with their help I was able to enjoy some of the stunning beauty that only New Zealand can offer. This was my first experience with wreck diving, and thanks to this group I felt safe and in good hands the entire team. Truly an epic trip!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible day of diving!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Awesome day from start to finish. Relaxed feel to everything, lovely friendly staff who were very knowledgable, helpful and fun! Great dives, felt safe , good gear and very informed In the briefing. Comfortable trip and awesome day!
Definatly would dive with these guys again!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tutukaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome stuff/ super prestation”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

5 stars for the dives (Canterbury wreck and Putahataha island) / 5 étoiles pour les plongées
5 stars for the crew: professionnal and friendly / 5 étoiles pour l'équipe: professionelle et sympa
5 stars for the marine life / 5 étoiles pour la vie marine
(5 stars for the music on board too :)!/ et 5 étoiles pour la musique à bord :)

thanks guys for this awesone day out in Bay of islands!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paihia Dive also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Northland Region, North Island
Bay of Islands, Northland Region
 

Been to Paihia Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing