We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time.”
Review of Terra Restaurant

Terra Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $15 - $120
Description: "A contemporary neighbourhood eatery in the heart of Paihia with sweeping views of the ocean and surrounding islands. We offer a full à la carte menu including vegetarian options. Enjoy a dining experience you wont forget while we sharing our passion for modern dining, creative beverage design, global cooking techniques, food sustainability and the unique ingredients of the stunning Far North of New Zealand.
Restaurant details
Description: "A contemporary neighbourhood eatery in the heart of Paihia with sweeping views of the ocean and surrounding islands. We offer a full à la carte menu including vegetarian options. Enjoy a dining experience you wont forget while we sharing our passion for modern dining, creative beverage design, global cooking techniques, food sustainability and the unique ingredients of the stunning Far North of New Zealand.
Reviewed 14 April 2024 via mobile

If you can beat the ambience, food and outstanding service at this restaurant you are in heaven.
Brilliant in every aspect. Dint miss it

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2024

I don't think I've ever seen such an agreement on stars awarded a restaurant on TA before. And wow - both the food and wine pairings for the chef's menu were delicious and spot on, respectively. The star dish of the evening was the deer tartare - so much going on in every bite! Service might not be up to the usual level of a one hat restaurant, but in these small towns, we found that young people from abroad on work/tourist visas were common as waitstaff. The proof is with the chef and their kitchen team, and at Terra, they really shine.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stork90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

Never realised this restaurant was here. Booked dinner while in Paihia. Nice location on first floor overlooking the harbour and across to Russell. Staff were friendly and helpful. Oysters and wild deer tartar to start. Followed by Tuna and Duck mains. Dessert was chocolate marquis and a play on stick date . All the food was delicious. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: March 2024
1  Thank GAW1257
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

Agree with what others have said; we couldn’t fault Terra - the food was imaginative and well executed, atmosphere pleasant and service friendly and attentive. So unexpected to find a gem like this in Paihia; it was the standout meal on our 10 day holiday in NZ. Thank you!

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2024

We thought this restaurant was terrible.
We were greated by a completely unconfident sloppily dressed very young woman who took us to our table.
When we asked her about local wines on offer she had ZERO knowledge of wine in general never mind any knowledge of local wineries or varietals..We were completely on our own there; oh well we thought..how about a coctail? The 2 drinks we ordered arrived cimpletely seperately; one after ten or so minutes and the other 5 ninutes after that (?) the menu looked okay though so we ordered from the offerings.
One of the entrees when it finally arrived ( 20 minites in a half empty restaurant ) consisted of a very large donut ( yes a donut ) with quail om top ( tiny ) and a couple of sauces dotted around..the donut element completely dominated the dish..it didn't make sense.
Our water were never topped up and used glassware stayed on the table until the end of our meal.
Very basic questions about deserts could not be answered so we skipped and went for a couple of flat white that were unrecognizable when they arrived..the server clearly couldn't make coffee either..
We expected far more from a restaurant with 1 hat quite frankly..(plastic chairs to sit on?) Honestly how this place got one hat is mystery to us.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Terra Restaurant also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Terra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.