We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible reservations system”
Review of Terra Restaurant

Terra Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $15 - $120
Description: "A contemporary neighbourhood eatery in the heart of Paihia with sweeping views of the ocean and surrounding islands. We offer a full à la carte menu including vegetarian options. Enjoy a dining experience you wont forget while we sharing our passion for modern dining, creative beverage design, global cooking techniques, food sustainability and the unique ingredients of the stunning Far North of New Zealand.
Restaurant details
Description: "A contemporary neighbourhood eatery in the heart of Paihia with sweeping views of the ocean and surrounding islands. We offer a full à la carte menu including vegetarian options. Enjoy a dining experience you wont forget while we sharing our passion for modern dining, creative beverage design, global cooking techniques, food sustainability and the unique ingredients of the stunning Far North of New Zealand.
Reviewed 4 June 2021

Might be a good place to eat, but do not rely on their website booking or telephone bookings. Booked on Wednesday for Sunday on the website, no reply or confirmation till Friday, called to confirm on Friday. The person answered couldn’t find the booking, but confirmed that they can accommodate.
4 hours later, the restaurant called and told us that they cannot accommodate anymore.
Useless , unreliable and unprofessional!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank zoltanw2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2021 via mobile

Although the reviews of this restaurant speak for themselves, I am usually sceptical about any place with such accolades and usually expect to be underwhelmed.

The restaurant itself is pleasant enough, situated upstairs above other lesser meal provides close to the ferry terminal but nothing which would indicate this could indeed be one special place.

However, the food snd service in Terra I can confirm were truly exceptional. It is the only place we have ever tipped (we don’t do that in Wellington) and possibly the best food we have experienced for many years - including all of restaurants we have visited in Wellington. I might go so far as to say that the last time I was this impressed with food was the ‘Fat Duck’ in Bray (UK) the home of Heston Blumenthal way back in 2002.

Every serving of food was exquisite - prawn toast, oysters, snapper, pork neck and the feta cheese in filo pastry with a yoghurt sorbet. All served in a relaxed and caring way.

So I give full marks to the chefs and their front of house staff. A memorable and unexpected pleasure. Thank you.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank philipharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2021

We had wanted to come to Terra for a while and eventually went last night. It was beautiful. From the moment we stepped in the door to when we left, the service was amazing. Friendly, professional, faultless. There were four of us and we all loved everything! The food looks beautiful and also tastes beautiful, This will be our go to restaurant now - birthdays, anniversaries, a Saturday... :) We are so lucky to have Terra right on our doorstep.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank laura j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2021

From the view, to the staff and the menu, you couldn't have asked for anything better. No better way to enjoy an evening with friends looking up to Waitangi as the sun is setting.
The food was first class and although the portions were not large everyone came away satisfied and we have some big eaters in our group.
The staff were very attentive without being intrusive; the water glasses always seemed to be full.
Would definitely recommend and next time we are back in Paihia we will be going back.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2021 via mobile

I’m always skeptical of TripAdvisor but Terra lives up to its fluid 5 star reviews!

Beautifully decorated and clean pleasant and pleasant staff

The little salt bowls in the middle of the table a cute added touch - I want one of those mini salt
scoops!

The bread with burnt chilli & yoghurt so simple but done so well- amazing

Cauliflower main course full of flavour and filling!

Courgette/Zucchini - OMG pine nuts goats cheese salt - delish!!!

My only gripe is $14 for a standard gin and being charged $4.50 for a standard mixer on top..? Maybe it’s a northlands thing?

Would highly recommend and would go back

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank AmyHarryWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Terra Restaurant also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Terra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.