We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The total package ”
Review of Terra Restaurant

Terra Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $15 - $120
Description: "A contemporary neighbourhood eatery in the heart of Paihia with sweeping views of the ocean and surrounding islands. We offer a full à la carte menu including vegetarian options. Enjoy a dining experience you wont forget while we sharing our passion for modern dining, creative beverage design, global cooking techniques, food sustainability and the unique ingredients of the stunning Far North of New Zealand.
Restaurant details
Description: "A contemporary neighbourhood eatery in the heart of Paihia with sweeping views of the ocean and surrounding islands. We offer a full à la carte menu including vegetarian options. Enjoy a dining experience you wont forget while we sharing our passion for modern dining, creative beverage design, global cooking techniques, food sustainability and the unique ingredients of the stunning Far North of New Zealand.
Reviewed 16 February 2021 via mobile

We booked for dinner here on our wedding anniversary. We were offered two options - book for the 5.30-8pm slot or for 8pm til late.
We had a table right at the front with views across the grass to the wharf, the bay, and beyond. In one direction we could even see all the way to the treaty ground at Waitangi. On a fine February evening, what a beautiful spot to relax. And it’s not only the view that impresses here. Great food, we loved the side dishes, extra touches like a complimentary amuse bouche, an excellent cheese, fruit and treats option which went so well with port and dessert wine after the mains, good service .... and when they heard it was our anniversary, out came a little extra treat to finish with. Yup, the total package.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank MichelleS948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2021

Had a gourmet lunch and thoroughly recommend the very nicely cooked, tasty and well presented food. Wide selection of beverages. Service was excellent, nothing any trouble. View, most enjoyable overlooking the sunny bay.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 438murraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2021 via mobile

Have eaten in a number of restaurants in various parts of the globe and rarely give an execellent mark. Mrs and I were staying for a week up in Paihia and I was keen to try Terra given its high ratings and great reviews, I was not dissappointed. The up stairs setting with outdoor verandah and great views across the bay to Russell and beyond. The service was very good as you would expect from a fine dining establishment. The menu is obviously varied to suit the season and availability of local produce, which is a good sign of a good chef. The wine list is also good with some local, national and a few international wines to choose from . Our waiter suggested some glasses of wine to match our meal selections , thumbs up. We started with a scallop starter , which was excellent- followed by a local snapper and cauliflower and chevre souffle mains, again both were excellent and we finished with a couple truffles and a port to finish. Our dining experience from start to finish was excellent . Fine dining in Pahia , well done Terra

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank mccdzyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2021

Really enjoyed our lunch here. Beautiful food, and lovely friendly service. By far the best restaurant in Paihia. Many thanks for a lovely experience!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jkandmkmekong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2021 via mobile

I’m absolutely blown away!!! We came here after coming off the ferry, without booking or checking it out first....well what a gem!!! We do eat out a lot and that is kind of a food I would expect in London, Paris or NY, not in Paihia. Presentation, flavours, balance it was all just spot on!! Service was as outstanding, our French waiter-Emery was a true professional!!
One of the best restaurants I have been in years!!!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank verryyynice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Terra Restaurant also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Terra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.