We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hidden gem”
Review of JFC Paihia

JFC Paihia
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Description: Located on the Paihia waterfront, JFC is a licensed, indoor/outdoor restaurant offering the freshest of fish and the best chips you will ever find. Enjoy your fish battered, crumbed or pan fried. But we are much more than that! Complemented with delights like our mussel fritters, kokoda, prawn cocktail a la the 70s and 80s and the best seafood chowder you’ll ever taste, anchovies on toast. We have a stunning fish burger (with a vegan option), tacos, grilled garlic butterfly prawns, fresh local oysters, juicy scallops, salmon steaks and a seafood platter to die for. We only purchase fresh fish - usually three varieties available - Gluten Free options. Enjoy this with a full selection of wines, beers and spirits or maybe a cocktail. Our closing time varies, especially in the winter - best to check.
Restaurant details
Description: Located on the Paihia waterfront, JFC is a licensed, indoor/outdoor restaurant offering the freshest of fish and the best chips you will ever find. Enjoy your fish battered, crumbed or pan fried. But we are much more than that! Complemented with delights like our mussel fritters, kokoda, prawn cocktail a la the 70s and 80s and the best seafood chowder you’ll ever taste, anchovies on toast. We have a stunning fish burger (with a vegan option), tacos, grilled garlic butterfly prawns, fresh local oysters, juicy scallops, salmon steaks and a seafood platter to die for. We only purchase fresh fish - usually three varieties available - Gluten Free options. Enjoy this with a full selection of wines, beers and spirits or maybe a cocktail. Our closing time varies, especially in the winter - best to check.
Reviewed 26 February 2024

This is a hidden gem. It was not highly profiled when I searched for restaurants to visit in Paihia, but it is excellent. We went there for lunch yesterday and the food was outstanding. We are just finishing a month of touring both the south and north island and this is one of our top spots for seafood. The name JFC( just fish and chips) is deceiving and may make people think that it is just another fish and chip shop. It is far from it! Although fish and chips are a mainstay ,their menu offers much more. Yesterday they had 4 DIFFERENT fish of the day that could come battered, breaded or pan fried! They could be served with chips ,salad or just as a piece. But this is only part of a tasty menu.

We decided to do a sharing meal and started with the garlic prawns. They were done butterflied with the heads on in , garlic butter. This was in our top 10 food items we had over the month! Then we both had a small seafood chowder that was tasty and full of fish. Filling and good! We then had a piece of the fish of the day which was breaded. It was light and flaky and delicious and also it had been recommended by our wonderful waitress Sima ! We also split the shrimp cocktail that was done retro style just like the 1970’s in the pink sauce.It hit the mark!

I did briefly mention Sima but I must say she made the meal even better. She was attentive,cheery, knowledgeable and fun to chat with. She brought our meal from great to excellent. As I said it seems to be a hidden gem,just a couple of minute walk from the pier which we obviously recommend.

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank G5418OYmikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chester Rendell, Owner at JFC Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Hi G54180Ymikem - wow what nice things you say about us and yes Sima is very special. We're pleased you enjoyed everything and thanks for the 5 Stars - much appreciated and we hope you can come by again in the future - Cheers Chester and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

We had grilled fish and chips and they were beautiful. He had the option of battered as well as bread crumbs. Lovely and relaxing atmosphere, based just on the edge of town.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Dream41610187944
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chester Rendell, Owner at JFC Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Hi Dream41610187944(!) - Thanks for taking the time to post your review and a special thanks for the 5 Stars - the team here appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again some time soon - Cheers Chester and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2024

Right on the water, this is a classic seafood restaurant that caters exceptionally well for coeliacs with strict gluten free requirements. The fish was fantastic and so well cooked. The service was first class and friendly - lovely people. Would go back in a heartbeat

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CraigH0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chester Rendell, Owner at JFC Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Hi Craig - Thanks for the great review and the 5 Stars - much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again - Cheers Chester and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

Popped in for dinner.
Greeted warmly and chose to sit inside, loads of seats/ benches all very comfortable.
Great service, lovely fresh food cooked in an open kitchen & competitively priced. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Nomad24765439766
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chester Rendell, Owner at JFC Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

Hi Nomad (and those numbers :) ) - Thanks for posting your great 5 Star review - all at JFC appreciate your kind words and hope you can come back soon. Cheers Chester and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024

Although locals this was our first time at JFC, our son visiting from overseas was a great excuse. We loved the relaxed vibe of the place, the friendly attentive staff & of course the seafood was delicious. A bonus was being able to watch a Cricket T20 game in the back room while enjoying our meal & drinks.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chester Rendell, Owner at JFC Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Hi Judy - Thanks for your review and the 5 Stars!! - we hope we see you again soon - Cheers Chester and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JFC Paihia also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to JFC Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.