We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town”
Review of JFC Paihia

JFC Paihia
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Description: Located on the Paihia waterfront, JFC is a licensed, indoor/outdoor restaurant offering the freshest of fish and the best chips you will ever find. Enjoy your fish battered, crumbed or pan fried. But we are much more than that! Complemented with delights like our mussel fritters, kokoda, prawn cocktail a la the 70s and 80s and the best seafood chowder you’ll ever taste, anchovies on toast. We have a stunning fish burger (with a vegan option), tacos, grilled garlic butterfly prawns, fresh local oysters, juicy scallops, salmon steaks and a seafood platter to die for. We only purchase fresh fish - usually three varieties available - Gluten Free options. Enjoy this with a full selection of wines, beers and spirits or maybe a cocktail. Our closing time varies, especially in the winter - best to check.
Restaurant details
Description: Located on the Paihia waterfront, JFC is a licensed, indoor/outdoor restaurant offering the freshest of fish and the best chips you will ever find. Enjoy your fish battered, crumbed or pan fried. But we are much more than that! Complemented with delights like our mussel fritters, kokoda, prawn cocktail a la the 70s and 80s and the best seafood chowder you’ll ever taste, anchovies on toast. We have a stunning fish burger (with a vegan option), tacos, grilled garlic butterfly prawns, fresh local oysters, juicy scallops, salmon steaks and a seafood platter to die for. We only purchase fresh fish - usually three varieties available - Gluten Free options. Enjoy this with a full selection of wines, beers and spirits or maybe a cocktail. Our closing time varies, especially in the winter - best to check.
Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

We had grilled fish and chips and they were beautiful. He had the option of battered as well as bread crumbs. Lovely and relaxing atmosphere, based just on the edge of town.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Dream41610187944
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chester Rendell, Owner at JFC Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Hi Dream41610187944(!) - Thanks for taking the time to post your review and a special thanks for the 5 Stars - the team here appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again some time soon - Cheers Chester and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2024

Right on the water, this is a classic seafood restaurant that caters exceptionally well for coeliacs with strict gluten free requirements. The fish was fantastic and so well cooked. The service was first class and friendly - lovely people. Would go back in a heartbeat

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CraigH0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chester Rendell, Owner at JFC Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Hi Craig - Thanks for the great review and the 5 Stars - much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again - Cheers Chester and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

Popped in for dinner.
Greeted warmly and chose to sit inside, loads of seats/ benches all very comfortable.
Great service, lovely fresh food cooked in an open kitchen & competitively priced. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Nomad24765439766
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chester Rendell, Owner at JFC Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

Hi Nomad (and those numbers :) ) - Thanks for posting your great 5 Star review - all at JFC appreciate your kind words and hope you can come back soon. Cheers Chester and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024

Although locals this was our first time at JFC, our son visiting from overseas was a great excuse. We loved the relaxed vibe of the place, the friendly attentive staff & of course the seafood was delicious. A bonus was being able to watch a Cricket T20 game in the back room while enjoying our meal & drinks.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chester Rendell, Owner at JFC Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Hi Judy - Thanks for your review and the 5 Stars!! - we hope we see you again soon - Cheers Chester and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2024

This restaurant is a treasure! Great fish dishes, efficient and friendly service, wonderful atmosphere. We sat outside, and that was lovely. The garden's lush vegetation and the beach across the road contributed to making this the perfect spot for a very pleasant evening out. The fish chowder, mussel fritters and fish and chips are the best!

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 614sonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chester Rendell, Owner at JFC Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2024

Hi Sonja - Thanks for your great review and the 5 Stars!! - the team here at JFC appreciate the feedback and are pleased you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again in the future. Cheers Chester and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JFC Paihia also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to JFC Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.