We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super fun paddling while learning about the Maori”

Taiamai Tours Heritage Journeys
Book In Advance
More Info
US$96.89*
and up
Haruru Falls and Waitangi River Tour on a Traditional Maori Waka with Guide
Ranked #25 of 49 Tours in Paihia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bay of Islands is home to the Ngapuhi tribe and Taiamai Tours heritage journeys. Our interactive Waka experience provides a rare and unique insight into our ancient customs, rituals and traditions. Join us on our Waka voyage and we promise you will leave us with everlasting memories which will remain with you forever.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super fun paddling while learning about the Maori”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Entertaining (and interesting!) excursion through Royal Caribbean, Radiance of the Seas! We had a very full "waka!" Lots of paddling fun while learning about the Maori. Great for all ages - you can paddle as much (or not!) as you'd like! Super fun, would definitely do this excursion again!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    8
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Interesting and fun experience”
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We visited as a small group, had great fun paddling the waka, surprised how fast we moved it along although with the tide turning and a head wind on the return journey later it was an added bonus with Wayne's additional motorised assistance. Interesting historical information and lots of details, both Rob and Wayne were happy to answer all questions and added to the ambience of the trip. Safety was paramount and all of us had to wear PFDs. A great little trip if you're up in Paihia, close to the Treaty Grounds too.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank spikeystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The most amazing experience ever.”
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We were on Bay of Islands via a cruise ship.
Although the weather was awful ( rain) we had a amazing time,the waka (war canoe) held about 26 people and we all had to row it,we were led by the a Moari who told such passionate tales about his ancestors, etc.
The whole trip lasted about 3 hrs but this went so quickly.
I just wish I could do it over again, the highlight of my trip.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Sozlovesholisays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous adventure”
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We did the Maori Waka encounter which was a brilliant experience even though it poured with rain throughout and we got soaked to the skin. Our guide was the chief of the Ngapuhi tribe who regaled us with stories of his family history whilst teaching us songs his grandma used to sing to him. The Haruru Falls were the highlight of the trip and were best viewed from the river.
I have never been in a canoe before as I can't swim but felt safe throughout and the 'training' on how to paddle at the beginning was very good.
I can highly recommend this experience as I don't believe it could ever be repeated.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank ABlackCountryLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good fun for the whole family”
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We decided to go on this experience during our cruise around New Zealand. It was great to get off the ship and have some exercise! The tour operators obviously love their job and provided lots of interesting stories about their culture while we paddled up the river. A beautiful way to see some of New Zealand while giving our teenage boys something to do other then going on another bus tour. Just don't forget to put on some sun cream as you're out on the water for about 2 hours and the sun sure is hot!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank nat l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taiamai Tours Heritage Journeys also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Taiamai Tours Heritage Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing