We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun for the whole family”

Taiamai Tours Heritage Journeys
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.46*
and up
Haruru Falls and Waitangi River Tour on a Traditional Maori Waka with Guide
Ranked #27 of 49 Tours in Paihia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bay of Islands is home to the Ngapuhi tribe and Taiamai Tours heritage journeys. Our interactive Waka experience provides a rare and unique insight into our ancient customs, rituals and traditions. Join us on our Waka voyage and we promise you will leave us with everlasting memories which will remain with you forever.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good fun for the whole family”
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We decided to go on this experience during our cruise around New Zealand. It was great to get off the ship and have some exercise! The tour operators obviously love their job and provided lots of interesting stories about their culture while we paddled up the river. A beautiful way to see some of New Zealand while giving our teenage boys something to do other then going on another bus tour. Just don't forget to put on some sun cream as you're out on the water for about 2 hours and the sun sure is hot!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank nat l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    8
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING time on our Waka Tour!”
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I bought this for my husbands Christmas present as he has been learning the Maori Language! It was truly such an amazing experience. Our guide, Tani, was a local who had grown up on the Waiting River. He taught us how to paddle the waka, and as we paddled our way up the river he spoke of his tupuna (ancestors) and of his iwi - Ngapuhi (tribe). He could recite his genealogy back 26 generations to the arrival of his tupuna in New Zealand. His immense knowledge and passion for Te Reo (Maori language) and Tikanga (customs) made for an exciting and informative experience.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank rebeccastevenson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good half day activity in the bay of islands ”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We had a small group of 5 people on our tour so it was more personal than say hiking with 20 other people. I would recommend this to anyone who would want a more genuine Maori experience and learn more about the history and culture. Thanks guys

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank motorhead_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waka on the Waitangi”
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Different experience, genuine Maori stories and a different view of Maori culture. Inboard motor made real paddling optional when necessary (there were only 6 of us) but it gave you a feel for what it was like.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Coral W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fun in the sun”
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Having been once,and enjoyed it,we decided that another adventure was warranted.
The thrill of paddling in a maori war canoe is great value with the natives extremely
warm and friendly.age is no barrier as they will carry you to the canoe and help you in and out.

The fun of splashing and pulling faces at other canoests together with the sight seeing and history of their culture is an unforgettable experience.

Recommended for anyone who want to have a laugh a minute 3 hours.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank bob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taiamai Tours Heritage Journeys also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Taiamai Tours Heritage Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing