We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun in the sun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taiamai Tours Heritage Journeys

Taiamai Tours Heritage Journeys
Book In Advance
More Info
US$97.20*
and up
Haruru Falls and Waitangi River Tour on a Traditional Maori Waka with Guide
Ranked #23 of 49 Tours in Paihia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bay of Islands is home to the Ngapuhi tribe and Taiamai Tours heritage journeys. Our interactive Waka experience provides a rare and unique insight into our ancient customs, rituals and traditions. Join us on our Waka voyage and we promise you will leave us with everlasting memories which will remain with you forever.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fun in the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2016

Having been once,and enjoyed it,we decided that another adventure was warranted.
The thrill of paddling in a maori war canoe is great value with the natives extremely
warm and friendly.age is no barrier as they will carry you to the canoe and help you in and out.

The fun of splashing and pulling faces at other canoests together with the sight seeing and history of their culture is an unforgettable experience.

Recommended for anyone who want to have a laugh a minute 3 hours.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank bob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    8
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our most memorable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2016

As authentic as it could get. We were surrounded by Maori tribesmen doing their welcoming dance performance. After, we prepared ourselves with sunscreen, life preservers, and water to drink. We boarded a double canoe and learned the intricacies of the correct way to paddle. It was a bonding experience as we navigated the Waitagi river while listening to the chief telling us the history of his people and his family. He was an excellent leader and getting caught up in his story took our attention off the physical exercise we were doing! Win, win, awesome experience.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Taimaitours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2015

An enjoyable canoe ride, on the Waitagi river, paddling to instructions but using an outboard when running late. The guides were dressed in traditional costume and amusing as well as informative. We visited a nearby cultural settlement though no one now lives there. We were given a talk and got to rub noses with the guides. The only problem was their culture had men at the front while the women were at the back which made watching the display they gave rather difficult

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great cultural experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2015

We had a brilliant day. We were welcomed in the traditional Maori way & then the "chief" started us out with safety & instructions. Into the war canoes or Waka's and up the river to the falls. We were given a very interesting history lesson and explanation of Maori language through their tattoos and songs. The "chief" shared his own experiences growing up under the "white man's rule" and all the down sides that it brings with it. It's great to have a group like this try to preserve the native cultures of a proud people. This cultural experience was right up there with my trip to Alaska & Canada. Kia-ora

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank KD_worldtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2015

We had the chief on our canoe and he was excellent. He talked for hours about the history of NZ and his people and family. Enjoyed it thoroughly. A couple who were elderly and could not paddle, he carried them into the boat and they were allowed to just sit and not paddle. Make sure you bring a hat and be prepared to sit on a wooden seat for a long period. Bring your camera on the boat even if they warn you it might get wet as it is worth it when you get to Haruru falls.

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taiamai Tours Heritage Journeys also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Taiamai Tours Heritage Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing