We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taimaitours” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taiamai Tours Heritage Journeys

Taiamai Tours Heritage Journeys
Book In Advance
More Info
US$97.20*
and up
Haruru Falls and Waitangi River Tour on a Traditional Maori Waka with Guide
Ranked #23 of 49 Tours in Paihia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bay of Islands is home to the Ngapuhi tribe and Taiamai Tours heritage journeys. Our interactive Waka experience provides a rare and unique insight into our ancient customs, rituals and traditions. Join us on our Waka voyage and we promise you will leave us with everlasting memories which will remain with you forever.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Taimaitours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2015

An enjoyable canoe ride, on the Waitagi river, paddling to instructions but using an outboard when running late. The guides were dressed in traditional costume and amusing as well as informative. We visited a nearby cultural settlement though no one now lives there. We were given a talk and got to rub noses with the guides. The only problem was their culture had men at the front while the women were at the back which made watching the display they gave rather difficult

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    8
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great cultural experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2015

We had a brilliant day. We were welcomed in the traditional Maori way & then the "chief" started us out with safety & instructions. Into the war canoes or Waka's and up the river to the falls. We were given a very interesting history lesson and explanation of Maori language through their tattoos and songs. The "chief" shared his own experiences growing up under the "white man's rule" and all the down sides that it brings with it. It's great to have a group like this try to preserve the native cultures of a proud people. This cultural experience was right up there with my trip to Alaska & Canada. Kia-ora

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank KD_worldtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2015

We had the chief on our canoe and he was excellent. He talked for hours about the history of NZ and his people and family. Enjoyed it thoroughly. A couple who were elderly and could not paddle, he carried them into the boat and they were allowed to just sit and not paddle. Make sure you bring a hat and be prepared to sit on a wooden seat for a long period. Bring your camera on the boat even if they warn you it might get wet as it is worth it when you get to Haruru falls.

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great fun, take a hat and sunscreen! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2015 via mobile

We book this through the cruise ship - this was the only tour in NZ done this way as most tours on the cruise ships listing are over priced but this seemed within the operator range. We had a great time too, the team at Taiamai Tours have this very much under control, they are professionals, they look after the punters and give you a great show. The waka experience is fantastic fun for all ages and very 'doable' -remember you are sitting down most of the time! Our tour involved a bit of the cultural introduction, the safety and paddling instructions then onto the waka (canoe). We had two full waka's, this made for a bit of competition and rivalry between the waka's- great fun. We paddled up to river to the falls, stopped for photos, lots of help to get your photo, then back down the river. This is a great tour, a bit of exercise for the cruise ship passenger's (possibly needed after two days at sea eating and drinking all the way to NZ! ) and I would recommend it to everyone, thanks Taiamai Tours!

Helpful?
2 Thank rsl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fun day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2015

Great day, loads of fun and laughter, taught us to paddle well together! A cultural experience! Recommend it for groups, including children!

Visited February 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Disgusted011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taiamai Tours Heritage Journeys also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Taiamai Tours Heritage Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing