We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Crayeater
Hamilton, New Zealand

Good value and friendly!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Nov 2020
Hard to beat the great location at this clean and friendly hotel for a short stay. It was great value for money, and although not luxurious the owners are clearly in the process of updating it and it had everything I wanted. Very easy walk to town, took me about 5 minutes to walk to the ferry.
Date of stay: November 2020
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Waterfront Suite
Booking.com
$176
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $176
  • ZenHotels.com
    $174
  • Hotels.com
    $176
0.5 km from Aarangi Tui Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
Booking.com
$116
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $110
  • Expedia.com
    $112
0.4 km from Aarangi Tui Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$129
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $107
  • Expedia.com
    $123
0.5 km from Aarangi Tui Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Booking.com
$167
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $167
0.6 km from Aarangi Tui Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $124
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Aarangi Tui Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$412
  • Expedia.com
    $409
  • Hotels.com
    $412
  • Tripadvisor
    $409
1.0 km from Aarangi Tui Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $155
  • Expedia.com
    $154
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Aarangi Tui Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$161
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $161
  • Tripadvisor
    $161
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Aarangi Tui Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heated pool - all year!
Booking.com
$96
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $106
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from Aarangi Tui Motel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$105
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $63
  • Expedia.com
    $94
1.0 km from Aarangi Tui Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
24
35
13
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
35
13
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2020

Good motel in the guts of te town, a comfortable drive from Auckland and a good stopping off point to explore and the bay of Islands. The town was full and we were pleased to have booked. Good value, good bed and friendly hosts

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johncharlesdarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

Excellent stay at this friendly, comfortable motel. Spacious rooms, well equipped and lovely hosts. Easy walk to all amenities in Paihia (5 mins). Wish the new owners every success with their new venture.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank SSDJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2020

This motel is a bit dated as some of the other reviews have said but it has an excellent location within easy walking distance of Paihia (the town, the wharf etc), and it is clean and with friendly and accommodating hosts. It is not cheap but a good mid-range motel for a pretty exclusive part of New Zealand. We had a two-bedroom unit and a small studio as well, for six of us, and it was nice to have (effectively) two bathrooms and two kitchens. Paihia is a great location to explore the Bay of Islands and towns such as Kawakawa and Kerikeri, and this motel is a good base for that.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CantonaForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for a while to see out our New Zealand visa so got a great long term rate (worth emailing ahead) first impressions weren’t great as the place was pretty dirty and dated. Once we let the owner know however she had it cleaned properly and couldn’t be more accommodating. Any problems we had she would aim to fix immediately, couldn’t speak highly enough of her.

Small unit had everything you could want I.e. bathroom, kitchenette, tv w/channels etc. Short flat walk into the centre of town. Not much more you could want.

One negative quirk is a house at the back of the motel that plays very loud music early in the morning or late at night.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CaneloLeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2019 via mobile

Was everything we needed for our 1 week stay to explore Northland. Clean, tidy, good parking, quick walk to closest supermarket and town. Friendly owners. Very good value to stay for 1 entire week....

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 294schnappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews