We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
21
28
13
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
28
13
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsequipped kitchentwo bedroom uniteasy walking distancegreat locationwater pressuretwo night stayplace to staytwo nightswharfunitsmoteltidywififerryhostsnorthland
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We had the apartment above the reception which was very large and comfortable
Seperate bedroom with an additional bed in the super large living area
Overall very comfortable with an equipped kitchen and located just on the edge of the shopping precinct
Recommended

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidvPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochine, Owner at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Hi,

Thank you for reviewing our large apartment. We are super glad you enjoyed your stay in Paihia. Our location is very handy to the township and the wharf, but off the main road for peaceful sleeping!

Best regards,

Rochine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Stayed 3 days in this motel and it’s absolutely comfortable and lovely.!
We’ve booked the Studio suite and its very spacious.! Big kitchen space and large fridge with one packet of free milk provided. Shower is an absolute comfort, very clean and good water pressure with hot water as well.
Wifi is good and SKY cable channels to keep us entertained since shops closes early during winter.
There is also an outdoor balcony with BBQ pit but we didn’t utilize it.

The care-taker of the motel lives at the ground level and she’s very helpful.
Previously we’ve booked the accommodation online and there’s a breakfast option included. However upon arrival, we double-checked with the care-taker where to collect our breakfast from but we were told breakfast is not provided.
She contacted the host immediately and we got our refund for breakfast, very helpful and efficient.
*Host mentioned she used to provide breakfast but no longer caters anymore.

Motel is located just 6-10mins walk from the wharf and there’s lotsa cafes and convenient stores (Countdown / 4 square) along the main stretch of road.

All in all, A home away from home.!
Probably the only downside is the heater is alil small for the unit, hence it gets chilly at night especially during winter. But they make up for it by providing lotsa thick blankets in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yEeVoNy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Very reasonable accomodation for Paihia and easy walking distance to the township where there plenty of cafes and access to launch trips etc. Units perhaps a little worn but everything is clean and tidy. Certainly the price makes for a more reasonable stay. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElvisInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Although we booked a studio we ended up with a two bedroom unit. It was very spacious and comfortable and had excellent kitchen facilities.

The location is very convenient and the hosts are very welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val_Mansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochine, Manager at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Hello,

We are happy to upgrade where possible, especially in the quieter months. Great to hear to enjoyed your stay with us, please come again.

Kind regards,

Rochine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This motel is located two blocks from the main street and wharf in Paihia, easy walking distance to restaurants, stores (including two grocery stores), and the starting point for many excursions. The motel is basic and shows a little wear, but it is clean, comfortable, and well maintained by friendly and helpful owners. You might want to pay a little extra and request Room 6 that has a separate living area, is disconnected from other rooms, and with easy parking. The motel doesn’t have air conditioning (fan) or central heat (space heater), but this isn’t a major issue given the local year round climate. In a tourist area with relatively high prices, the Aarangi Tui Motel is a real find and worth of consideration, why unnecessarily pay more?

Room Tip: Consider paying a little more for Room 6 with a separate living area.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WisconsinMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews