We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Aarangi Tui Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aarangi Tui Motel
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Two nights here at the Aarangi Tui motel in Paihia. We found it to be a comfortable base. We had the upstairs unit above the reception. Was a very large apartment, with a separate bedroom, with lounge, kitchen and bathroom. Room needed a little bit of work. Some of the paint was pretty rough, and it needed a bit of a thorough clean. But it was perfectly survivable.

The Motel was a really short walk to the Wharf, and the Countdown supermarket. Had a heatpump to take the chill off overnight.

I definitely recommend this place as a wonderful cheap place to base yourself for Northland travels

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JustPlaneMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We had the apartment above the reception which was very large and comfortable
Seperate bedroom with an additional bed in the super large living area
Overall very comfortable with an equipped kitchen and located just on the edge of the shopping precinct
Recommended

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidvPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochine, Owner at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi,

Thank you for reviewing our large apartment. We are super glad you enjoyed your stay in Paihia. Our location is very handy to the township and the wharf, but off the main road for peaceful sleeping!

Best regards,

Rochine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Stayed 3 days in this motel and it’s absolutely comfortable and lovely.!
We’ve booked the Studio suite and its very spacious.! Big kitchen space and large fridge with one packet of free milk provided. Shower is an absolute comfort, very clean and good water pressure with hot water as well.
Wifi is good and SKY cable channels to keep us entertained since shops closes early during winter.
There is also an outdoor balcony with BBQ pit but we didn’t utilize it.

The care-taker of the motel lives at the ground level and she’s very helpful.
Previously we’ve booked the accommodation online and there’s a breakfast option included. However upon arrival, we double-checked with the care-taker where to collect our breakfast from but we were told breakfast is not provided.
She contacted the host immediately and we got our refund for breakfast, very helpful and efficient.
*Host mentioned she used to provide breakfast but no longer caters anymore.

Motel is located just 6-10mins walk from the wharf and there’s lotsa cafes and convenient stores (Countdown / 4 square) along the main stretch of road.

All in all, A home away from home.!
Probably the only downside is the heater is alil small for the unit, hence it gets chilly at night especially during winter. But they make up for it by providing lotsa thick blankets in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yEeVoNy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Very reasonable accomodation for Paihia and easy walking distance to the township where there plenty of cafes and access to launch trips etc. Units perhaps a little worn but everything is clean and tidy. Certainly the price makes for a more reasonable stay. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElvisInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Although we booked a studio we ended up with a two bedroom unit. It was very spacious and comfortable and had excellent kitchen facilities.

The location is very convenient and the hosts are very welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val_Mansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochine, Manager at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello,

We are happy to upgrade where possible, especially in the quieter months. Great to hear to enjoyed your stay with us, please come again.

Kind regards,

Rochine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 km away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#28 of 43 in Paihia
54 reviews
0.6 km away
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
0.3 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
1.0 km away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
0.6 km away
Casa Bella Motel
Casa Bella Motel
#22 of 43 in Paihia
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Paihia

Been to Aarangi Tui Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aarangi Tui Motel

Address: 16 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: $97 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aarangi Tui Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aarangi Tui Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing